ACC Student-Athletes Collect IWLCA All-America Honors

Twenty ACC players are among the 48 honored   

GREENSBORO – Twenty ACC women’s lacrosse student-athletes garnered All-America accolades for the 2015 season, as announced by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWL CA).

Eleven from the ACC were named to the 16-member All-America First Team, the most of any conference in the nation. Boston College, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Syracuse each have two on the first team, while Duke, Louisville and Virginia have one.

Named to the IWLCA All-America First Team include: Boston College’s Sarah Mannelly and Covie Stanwick; Duke’s Kerrin Maurer; Louisville’s Kaylin Morissette; North Carolina’s Courtney Waite and Caylee Waters; Notre Dame’s Barbara Sullivan; Syracuse Kayla Treanor and Halle Majorana; and Virginia’s Casey Bocklett.

Earning second team honors are: Boston College’s Mikaela Rix, North Carolina’s Maggie Bill, Notre Dame’s Alex Dalton, Syracuse’s Kailah Kempney and Virginia’s Morgan Stephens and Courtney Swan.

Aly Messinger (North Carolina), Casey Pearsall (Notre Dame) and Liza Blue (Virginia) each collected third team honors.

Eight of the ACC’s 20 All-Americans will be in action Friday, May 22 at PPL Park in  Philadelphia, Pa., in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship National Semifinals.  North Carolina and Duke will face each other in the first semifinal at 5 p.m., while Syracuse plays Maryland in the second semifinal slated for 7:30 p.m. Both games will air on ESPN3. The two winners will meet in the national championship game on Sunday, May 24 at 8:30 p.m.

2015 IWLCA All-America Team 

First Team
Sarah Mannelly, Jr. , M, Boston College
Covington Stanwick, Sr., A, Boston College
Kerrin Maurer, Sr., A, Duke
Kaylin Morissette, Jr., M, Louisville
Courtney Waite, Sr., D, North Carolina
Caylee Waters, So., G, North Carolina
Cortney Fortunato, So., A, Notre Dame
Barbara Sullivan, Sr., D, Notre Dame
Halle Majorana , Jr., A, Syracuse
Kayla Treanor, Jr., A, Syracuse
Casey Bocklett, Sr., A, Virginia

Second Team
Mikaela Rix, Sr., M, Boston College
Maggie Bill, So., M, North Carolina
Alex Dalton, So., D, Notre Dame
Kailah Kempney, Sr., A, Syracuse
Morgan Stephens, Sr., D, Virginia
Courtney Swan, Sr., A, Virginia

Third Team
Aly Messinger, Jr., A, North Carolina
Casey Pearsall, So., M, Notre Dame
Liza Blue, Sr., A, Virginia