ACC Softball: Four League Teams Selected For NCAAs

Conference champion Florida State leads contingent as play opens Friday

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Four Atlantic Coast Conference teams were selected to the 64-team field of the 2016 NCAA Division I Softball Championship, which gets underway on Thursday (May 19) and runs through June 8. Louisville, North Carolina and Notre Dame earned at-large bids and will join ACC champion Florida State, which earned the league’s automatic berth.

Eighth-seeded Florida State (48-8), competing in the NCAA Championship for the 17th consecutive season, will play host to nearby FAMU (27-28) on Friday afternoon at 2:30 (ESPN3). South Carolina (36-21) and USF (44-14) complete the Tallahassee Regional field. The Seminoles claimed their 14th overall league title last Saturday afternoon, turning back Notre Dame in the ACC Championship game.

Notre Dame (41-11) will compete in the Ann Arbor Regional and will face Miami (OH) (34-21) in the opening round on Friday at 4:30 p.m. The Fighting Irish are making their third appearance as a member of the ACC and 21st overall. Also in the regional are host No. 2 seed Michigan (46-5) and Valparaiso (18-32).

Louisville (35-15) will travel to Columbia, Missouri, for the second consecutive year to face Nebraska (33-19) in Thursday’s 2:30 p.m. first-round game (ESPN2). Joining the Cardinals in the Columbia Regional are host No. 15 seed Missouri (39-14) and BYU (35-19). Louisville is making its 13th straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

North Carolina (31-23) travels to Harrisonburg, Virginia, and will face Longwood (38-18) in its opening game on Friday at 2 p.m. The Tar Heels are making their 13th appearance in the tournament and second straight. Joining UNC are host No. 7 seed James Madison (46-4) and Princeton (23-26).

At least four ACC teams have earned NCAA tournament bids in 10 of the last 12 years.

Regionals for the NCAA Division I Softball Championship will be held May 19-22 at 16 campus sites. At each campus site, a four-team, double-elimination tournament will be conducted and the 16 winning teams advance to the Super Regionals.

Super Regionals will be held May 26-29 on eight campus sites. At each site, two teams play in a best-of-three tournament format. The winners from each site advance to the NCAA Women’s College World Series.

The 2016 NCAA Women’s College World Series will be held at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium - OGE Energy Field in Oklahoma City, June 2-8. This is the 35th annual NCAA Division I Softball Championship and the 26th time that Oklahoma City and ASA Hall of Fame Stadium-OGE Energy Field will host the premier college softball championship event.

NCAA Regionals with ACC Teams
Tallahassee Regional – May 20-22 at Tallahassee, Florida
South Fla. (44-14) vs. South Carolina (36-21)
Florida A&M (27-28) vs. No. 8 seed Florida St. (48-8)

Ann Arbor Regional – May 20-22 at Ann Arbor, Michigan
Notre Dame (41-11) vs. Miami (OH) (34-21)
Valparaiso (18-32) vs. No. 2 seed Michigan (46-5)

Columbia  Regional – May 19-21 at Columbia, Missouri
No. 15 seed Missouri (39-14) vs. BYU (35-19)
Louisville (35-15) vs. Nebraska (33-19)

Harrisonburg Regional – May 20-22 at Harrisonburg, Virginia
No. 7 seed James Madison (46-4) vs. Princeton (23-26)
Longwood (38-18) vs. North Carolina (31-23)