ACC-Record 10 Men's Golf Teams Earn NCAA Bids

Ten league teams leads all conferences

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Ten Atlantic Coast Conference teams have earned bids to the 2015 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship, the selection committee announced Monday morning.

The 10 league representatives is the most from any conference in the country and it stands as the most in league history. It marks the ninth time in the last 10 years that at least eight teams have earned a bid.

Georgia Tech, which captured the ACC Championship a week ago, was named the No. 2 seed at the Farms Golf Club in Rancho Sante Fe, California, and will be joined by No. 5 Virginia.

Four league teams will be competing at the UNC Finley Golf Course, hosted by North Carolina. No. 1 Florida State, which has spent a large portion of the season ranked No. 1 in the country, is the top seed in the regional. No. 5 Wake Forest and No. 6 Clemson also join the third-seeded Tar Heels in Chapel Hill.

Louisville and Duke are seeded seventh and eighth, respectively, at the Rawls Course in Lubbock, Texas. No. 7 Virginia Tech will play at the Sagamore Club in Nobelsville, Indiana, and No. 8 NC State is headed to the Course at Yale in New Haven, Connecticut.

A total of 81 teams and 45 other individuals will participate in six regional tournaments from May 14-16. The low five teams and low individual from each region will advance to the finals at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla., from May 29-June 3. Golf Channel will televise the championship live.

The 2015 championships will feature a new format while maintaining the 72-hole stroke play format for determining the individual champion.  Finals play will now consist of three days of stroke play on Friday thru Sunday (54 holes), after which the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on an advancing team will be determined.  That is followed by a final day of 18 holes of stroke play (Monday) to determine the top eight teams that will advance to match play as well as the 72-hole individual champion.  The team national champion will be determined by a match-play format that will consist of quarterfinals and semifinals conducted on Tuesday, followed by the finals on Wednesday.

ACC Men’s Golf in the 2015 NCAA Men’s Golf Regionals

The Sagamore Club – Noblesville, Indiana
Hosted by Ball State University
7. Virginia Tech

University of North Carolina Finley Golf Course – Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Hosted by University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
1. Florida State
3. North Carolina
5. Wake Forest
6. Clemson

The Farms Golf Club – Rancho Santa Fe, California
Hosted by University of San Diego
2. Georgia Tech
3. Virginia

The Rawls Course – Lubbock, Texas
Hosted by the Texas Tech University
7. Louisville
8. Duke

The Course at Yale – New Haven, Connecticut
Hosted by Yale University
8. NC State