ACC Receives 34 Allocations for NCAA Tournament

The Atlantic Coast Conference was designated for 34 NCAA Tournament qualifications for the 2016 NCAA Division 1 Wrestling Championships, which will be held March 17-19 in Madison Square Garden in New York City, the NCAA announced today.

The 34 allocations ties the most the league has garnered, which it received in 2014 as a seven-team league. The ACC now has six wrestling teams.

The ACC was awarded qualifications in the following weight classes: 125 (4), 133 (3), 141 (4), 149 (2), 157 (3), 165 (5), 174 (2), 184 (3), 197 (5) and 285 (3).

For each wrestler that reached the threshold in at least two of the three categories, his qualifying tournament was awarded a qualifying spot in that weight class. Each qualifying tournament, with automatic qualifying status, was awarded a minimum of one wrestler per weight class, which will go to the tournament champion, even if they did not have any wrestlers reach at least two of the three thresholds. 

After all of the qualifying events have concluded, the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee will meet in-person to select the remaining 46 at-large qualifiers, which will be announced on March 9. All weight classes will consist of 33 wrestlers. The at-large selections will be made based on the following criteria: head-to-head competition; quality wins; coaches ranking; results against common opponents; RPI; qualifying event placement; and winning percentage.

ACC Has 36 Wrestlers Ranked in Second NCAA Division I Coaches Rankings NCAA Rankings are the Third of Four for 2015-16

Led by the top two ranked wrestlers at 285 pounds in No. 1 Nick Gwiazdowski of NC State and No. 2 Ty Walz of Virginia Tech, the ACC had 36 wrestlers ranked in the third of four NCAA coaches panel rankings for the 2015-16 season released on February 25.

The final rankings will be one of the tools used as part of the selection process to determine qualifies for the 2016 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. This year’s Championship will be held March 17-19 at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The coaches’ rankings are compiled by a vote of coaches representing each qualifying tournament. For rankings purposes, coaches may only consider a wrestler that has been designated a starter at a respective weight class. In order to be eligible for the rankings, wrestlers must have participated in at least five matches against Division I opponents and have wrestled within the last 30 days.

NC State and Virginia Tech led all ACC schools with eight selections each, followed by North Carolina (6), Virginia and Pitt (5) and Duke (4). All eight Hokies are ranked 13th or higher, with six rated in the Top eight.

Gwiazdowski, the two-time national champion who has won 82 consecutive matches, the longest current streak in Division I, is the only ACC wrestler who is top ranked.

Fifteen ACC grapplers, though, are ranked in the nation’s top 10, including Walz of Virginia Tech, who is ranked second. Joey Dance of Virginia Tech (125) and Kevin Jack of NC State (141) are ranked third. Thomas Gantt of NC State (157) is ranked fourth. Duke’s Conner Hartmann (197) is ranked fifth. Virginia’s George DiCamillo (133), NC State’s Max Rohskopf (165), North Carolina’s Joey Ward (141), Virginia Tech’s Zach Zavatsky (184) and Jared Haught (197) are ranked sixth. Virginia Tech’s Nick Brascetta (157) is ranked seventh while Tech’s Solomon Chishko (174) and North Carolina’s Evan Henderson (149) are ranked eighth. Tech’s Zach Epperly is ranked 10th.

ACC Rankings By School
Duke (4)
Wgt  Name                         Rank

141   Zach Finesilver          23
149   Mitch Finesilver        12
165   Jake Faust                  18
197   Conner Hartmann    5

North Carolina (6)
141   Joey Ward                   6
149   Evan Henderson        8
165   John Staudenmeyer  11
174   Ethan Ramos              4
184   Alex Utley                   19
197   Chip Ness                   23

NC State (8)
125   Sean Fausz                 20
133   Jamal Morris              27t
141   Kevin Jack                   3
157   Thomas Gantt           4
165   Max Rohskopf           6
184   Pete Renda                174
197   Michael Boykin          16
285   Nick Gwiazdowski     1

Pitt (5)
125   L.J. Bentley                 25
133   Dom Forys                 19
165   Cody Wiercioch         23
174   TeShan Campbell     29
285   Ryan Solomon          18

Virginia (5)
125   Nick Herrmann         28
133   George DiCamillo     6
157   Andrew Atkinson     22
197   Zach Nye                   15
285   Patrick Gillen            29

Virginia Tech (8)
125   Joey Dance                3
141   Solomon Chishko    8
157   Nick Brascetta          7
165   David McFadden      13
174   Zach Epperly             10
184   Zach Zavatsky           6
197   Jared Haught             6
285   Ty Walz                      2