ACC Programs Send 16 Golfers to the PGA Championship

Play gets underway Thursday 

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Sixteen golfers from Atlantic Coast Conference schools will tee off Thursday at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wisconsin, as part of the 2015 PGA Championship.

Nine league programs will be represented in the tournament, led Florida State and Georgia Tech with three golfers each. The Seminoles are George McNeill, Daniel Berger, and Brooks Koepka, while Chesson Hadley, Matt Kuchar, and Cameron Tringale are the former Yellow Jackets.

Louisville (Grant Sturgeon and Adam Rainaud), NC State (Tim Clark and Carl Pettersson), and Wake Forest (Bill Haas and Webb Simpson) have two representatives. Clemson’s Ben Martin, Duke’s Kevin Streelman, North Carolina’s Davis Love III, and Virginia Tech’s Brendon de Jonge are all in the field.

Golfers from ACC schools have combined for five victories at the PGA Championship, with the most recent coming in 1997 by Love III. Three Florida State Seminoles won the event in a nine year stretch from 1985-93: Hubert Green in 1985, Jeff Sluman in 1988, and Paul Azinger in 1993.  Wake Forest’s Lanny Wadkins was victorious in 1977.

Golfers from ACC Schools in the 2015 PGA Championship Field
Ben Martin, Clemson
Kevin Streelman, Duke
George McNeill, Florida State
Daniel Berger, Florida State
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Grant Sturgeon, Louisville
Adam Rainaud, Louisville
Tim Clark, NC State
Carl Pettersson, NC State
Davis Love III, North Carolina
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest