ACC Players Well Represented on Early Season Watch Lists

Twelve players named to Naismith Trophy Preseason Top 50; seven on the Allstate Good Works Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Twelve women’s basketball players from the Atlantic Coast Conference were named to the Naismith Trophy’s Preseason Watch List, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday. Also announced today were the 97 nominees for the WBCA Allstate Good Works Team, which includes seven ACC student-athletes. 

The Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List includes 50 of the top women’s collegiate basketball players who will be in the conversation for the prestigious honor. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players of the Year.

The ACC’s 12 selections leads all leagues and include Duke’s Lexie Brown and Rebecca Greenwell, Florida State’s Leticia Romero and Shakayla Thomas, Louisville’s Asia Durr, Myisha Hines-Allen and Mariya Moore, Miami’s Adrienne Motley, Notre Dame’s Lindsay Allen, Arike Ogunbowale and Brianna Turner, and Syracuse’s Alexis Peterson. 

The Naismith Midseason 30 list will be announced on February 8. A men’s Naismith winner has been selected annually since 1969, and the inaugural women’s trophy was presented in 1983. For more information on the award, visit

The Allstate WBCA and NABC Good Works Teams® recognizes players at all levels of college basketball whose charitable involvement and altruistic acts stand out amongst all other student-athletes participating in the sport. From leading an initiative to help end the water crisis in Flint, Michigan, to co-founding a non-profit with the mission to improve literacy rates across the country, the players nominated embody the true spirit of teamwork and giving back.

This esteemed award honors an outstanding group of student-athletes who represent the sport’s finest in the areas of community service and leadership among their peers.

Included on this list of nominees are seven ACC student-athletes: Clemson’s Ivy Atkism, Florida State’s Ivey Slaughter, Louisville’s Arica Carter, Miami’s Khaila Prather, NC State’s Jennifer Mathurin,  Syracuse’s Brittney Sykes and Virginia’s Breyana Mason. 

Athletic departments and sports information directors across the country nominated the 97 WBCA and 181 NABC student-athletes for the prestigious honor. Two special voting panels, headlined by former Duke University basketball athlete, two-time NCAA® champion and seven-time NBA All-Star Grant Hill, and former Notre Dame basketball star, two-time Nancy Lieberman Award winner and current WNBA player Skylar Diggins, will select 10-member teams from both the WBCA and NABC, comprised of five student-athletes from the NCAA Division I level and five student-athletes from Divisions II, III and the NAIA. The final roster of 20 award recipients will be unveiled in February.

ACC Women’s Basketball on the Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List 
Lexie Brown, Jr., G, Duke 
Rebecca Greenwell, R-Jr., G, Duke 
Leticia Romero, Sr., G, Florida State
Shakayla Thomas, Jr., F, Florida State
Asia Durr, So., G, Louisville
Myisha Hines-Allen, Jr., G, Louisville
Mariya Moore, Jr., F, Louisville
Adrienne Motley, Sr., G, Miami
Lindsay Allen, Sr., G, Notre Dame 
Arike Ogunbowale, So., G, Notre Dame 
Brianna Turner, Jr., F, Notre Dame 
Alexis Peterson, Sr., G, Syracuse 

ACC Women’s Basketball on the WBCA All-State Good Works Team 
Ivy Atkism, Jr., P, Clemson 
Ivey Slaughter, Sr., F, Florida State 
Arica Carter, Jr., G, Louisville
Khaila Prather, Jr., F, Miami
Jennifer Mathurin, Sr., F, NC State
Brittney Sykes, R-Sr., G, Syracuse
Breyana Mason, Sr., G, Virginia