ACC Night of Legends Event Presented by the Belk Bowl to be held Dec. 5

Heather Cox and Tim Brant to host event to honor past and present ACC football greats

CHARLOTTE, NC – The Atlantic Coast Conference will host the ACC Night of Legends on Friday, Dec. 5 at the Charlotte Convention Center. The signature event will recognize a Legend from each ACC institution as well as the 2014 ACC Football season's award winners. The 2014 ACC Football Legends will also be honored during a ceremony at the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game at Bank of America Stadium on Dec. 6.

The event will offer attendees the opportunity to meet some of the biggest names in college football. A reception will be held from 6-7 p.m., with the dinner and awards presentation beginning at 7 p.m. 

Heather Cox, a sideline reporter for ESPN, ESPN2 and ABC Sports, will serve as emcee for the evening and announce the postseason award winners. Tim Brant, the Vice President and Director of Sports for ABC 7/WJLA-TV in Washington, D.C., will present the ACC Legends. 

“The ACC Night of Legends embodies the true spirit of ACC Football, as we recognize the accomplishments of the regular-season and the rich history of our member institutions,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “The opportunity to celebrate both this year’s award winners and the outstanding 2014 class of legends will make this a terrific event.”

The group of 14 former gridiron standouts from current ACC schools includes a former ACC Football Player of the Year; an ACC Defensive Player of the Year, 12 former All-Americas, including 10 first-team and six consensus All-American honorees and 12 players who combined for 118 years in the National Football League. Twelve of the Legends were drafted into the NFL, including nine first- or-second-round draft choices.

In all, the collection of players combined for three national championships, eight ACC championships, 11 Super Bowl appearances, eight Super Bowl championships and 26 Pro Bowl appearances. Three of the Legends were named to their respective NFL All-Decade teams. More information on this year’s Legends class can be found at

Night of Legends event tickets are still available but are selling quickly. To purchase event tickets, tables or for more information please visit

The following ACC Legends will be honored:

Player School
Chris Snee Boston College
Donnell Woolford Clemson
Chris Castor Duke
Derrick Brooks Florida State
John Davis Georgia Tech
Frank Minnifield Louisville
Darrin Smith Miami
Greg Ellis North Carolina
Jesse Campbell NC State
Hugh Green Pittsburgh
Art Monk Syracuse
George Welsh Virginia
Jake Grove Virginia Tech
Alan White Wake Forest

The following Players and Coaches awards will be presented:

Jacob’s Blocking Trophy Best Blocking Offensive Lineman
Brian Piccolo Award Most Courageous Player
Jim Tatum Award Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Offensive Rookie of the Year
Defensive Rookie of the Year
Overall Rookie of the Year Either the Offensive or Defensive Rookie of the Year
Offensive Player of the Year
Defensive Player of the Year
Overall Play of the Year Either the Offensive or Defensive Player of the Year
Coach of the Year