ACC Men’s & Women’s Lacrosse: Tewaaraton Nominees Announced

ACC leads all conferences

WASHINGTON -- The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 25 men's and women's nominees for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. Twelve ACC student-athletes for both the men and the women were included.

The 12 ACC men recognized is three times as many as from any other conference, while the 12 women is twice as many as from any other conference.

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

Five men's and five women's finalists will be selected from these groups of 25, announced on Thursday, May 7, and invited to the ceremony. The 15th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held Thursday, May 28 in Washington, D.C., at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

The men's award nominees include players from 14 schools, including 2014 co-winner Lyle Thompson (Albany) and representatives from 11 of the top 20 teams in the April 20 USILA Coaches Poll. Six schools are represented by multiple players, including Syracuse, which leads the nation with four nominees.

"We congratulate these elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month."

This year's initial Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 28 and included the top 50 men's and women's college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced on March 19 and April 9.



ACC Men Tewaaraton Nominees

Deemer Class, Duke - Jr., Midfield

Myles Jones, Duke - Jr., Midfield

Chad Tutton, North Carolina - Sr., Midfield

Jimmy Bitter, North Carolina - Sr., Attack

Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Sr., Attack

Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Jr., Attack

Matt Landis, Notre Dame - Jr., Defense

Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame - So., Midfield

Brandon Mullins, Syracuse - Jr., Defense

Dylan Donahue, Syracuse - Jr., Attack

Ben Williams, Syracuse - So., Faceoff

Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Sr., Attack


ACC Women Tewaaraton Nominees

Sarah Mannelly, Boston College - Jr., Midfield

Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Sr., Midfield

Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Sr., Attack

Kelsey Duryea, Duke - Jr., Goalie

Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Sr., Attack

Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Jr., Midfield

Courtney Waite, North Carolina - Sr., Defense

Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame - So., Attack

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Sr., Defense

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Jr., Attack

Casey Bocklet, Virginia - Sr., Attack

Courtney Swan, Virginia - Sr., Attack