ACC Men's Soccer Sends NCAA-Record Nine Teams to Postseason Tournament

Seven teams earn national seeds

GREENSBORO, N.C. – An NCAA-record nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams earned a bid to the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship, announced Monday afternoon. 

No. 2 Wake Forest, No. 3 Clemson, No. 4 Louisville, No. 8 Syracuse, No. 9 North Carolina, No. 12 Virginia, and No. 13 Notre Dame were named national seeds with first round byes, while Boston College and Virginia Tech also earned a bid in the tournament. 

The nine bids is the most from any conference in NCAA history, surpassing the previous record of eight first set by the ACC in 2005 and tied by the Big East in 2012. It marks the fourth-straight year that the ACC has placed the most teams in the tournament, and it is 16th consecutive that at least five league teams have earned a bid. 

The Demon Deacons (15-2-3) earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament for the third time in program history and the first time since 2007, when they won the national championship. Wake Forest, which won its second ACC Championship on Sunday with a 3-1 win over Clemson, will host the winner of Coastal Carolina and Radford on Sunday.

With its fourth straight NCAA berth, Clemson (12-3-5) earned the No. 3 seed and will face the winner of South Carolina and Mercer on Sunday. The Tigers reached the College Cup last year before falling in the NCAA Championship and have 29 all-time tournament appearances. 

Fourth-seeded Louisville (12-5-2) will begin tournament play against the winner of UCLA and Colgate on Sunday. The Cardinals are making their ninth tournament appearance in the last 10 years. 

No. 8 Syracuse (11-3-4) earned an at-large bid for the third consecutive year and will face the winner of Dartmouth and St. Francis (Brooklyn) when it opens tournament play on Sunday. The Orange, which advanced to the College Cup last year for the first time in program history, is making its fifth NCAA Tournament appearance and fourth in the last five years.  

Ninth-seeded North Carolina (11-3-3), the ACC Coastal Division Champion, will host the winner of USF and Florida Gulf Coast in the second round. It is the 24th tournament appearance for the Tar Heels, who earned a national seed for the seventh time in the last nine years. 

Virginia (10-3-5) was named the No. 12 seed and will play either Vermont or Rider in the first round. It is the 36th consecutive tournament appearances for the Cavaliers, the longest active streak in Division I men’s soccer, and they are seeded for the 16th time in the last 23 years. 

No. 13 Notre Dame (11-6-2) earned a bid for the 15th time in the last 16 years and will face the winner of Loyola Chicago and Illinois-Chicago on Sunday in the second round. The Irish last advanced to the College Cup in 2013, when they won the program’s first national title. 

Boston College (8-8-3) will open tournament play when it hosts Fordham on Thursday at 6 p.m. The Eagles, who advanced to the Elite Eight last year, are making their 14th appearance in the tournament. 

Virginia Tech (10-4-4) returns to the tournament for the first time since 2007, when it advanced to the College Cup. The Hokies will host ETSU in the first round on Thursday at 6 p.m.

All first-round games will be played Thursday, November 17, while all second-round action will take place Sunday, November 20. The third round will be played November 26 and 27, while the quarterfinals will be played December 2 and 3. The Men’s College Cup will be held December 9 and 11 at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas.

An ACC team has won the national championship 17 times, including in seven of the past 11 years. At least one ACC squad has reached the College Cup in 15 straight seasons, while 10 different league programs have reached the sport’s highest stage.