ACC Men's Soccer Leads All with Seven NCAA Bids

Five league squads earn national seeds

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Highlighted by five of the top eight national seeds, the Atlantic Coast Conference placed seven teams in the field of 48 of the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship.

The seven bids are the most from any conference in the country, the third -straight year the ACC has placed the most teams in the tournament. It is the 15th consecutive year with at least five ACC teams in the tournament, and it ties for the second most in league history.

Wake Forest claimed the No. 1 overall seed, marking the 13th time in the last 21 years that an ACC squad has been the top seed in the tournament. No. 2 Clemson, No. 5 North Carolina, No. 6 Syracuse, and No. 7 Notre Dame all earned first-round byes and the right to the host a second round game. Boston College and Virginia received at-large bids and will open tournament play in the first round on Thursday, Nov. 19.

The ACC Atlantic Division Champions, the Demon Deacons (15-2-2) earned the top overall seed for the fourth time in program history and will face the winner of Charlotte and Radford when they open tournament play on Sunday, Nov. 22. Wake Forest, the 2007 national champion, is making its 19th trip to the postseason. 

Clemson (15-2-2) claimed a top-eight national seed for the second straight year after being seeded No. 7 last season. The Tigers rank ninth nationally with 29 all-time appearances and begin tournament play against the winner of Elon and Winthrop. A two-time national champion, Clemson ranks sixth in the NCAA Division I with 48 tournament wins.

Making its 23rd NCAA appearance, ACC Coastal Division Champion North Carolina (14-1-3) will host a second round game against the winner of North Florida and Coastal Carolina on Nov. 22. The Tar Heels, who have made six trips to the College Cup and won the national title twice, earned a national seed in 2015 for the sixth time in the last eight years.

The 2015 ACC Champion, Syracuse (13-5-3) will host the winner of Dartmouth and Hartwick in the second round. Syracuse, which is in the tournament field for the fourth time, earned a program-best No. 6 seed and won a conference title for the first time in 30 years when it defeated Notre Dame, 1-0, in the championship on Nov. 15.

The Fighting Irish (11-4-5) earned a top 10 national seed for the fourth straight year and will host the winner of Tulsa and FIU in the second round. The 2013 NCAA Champion, Notre Dame is making its 18th appearance in the tournament

Boston College (9-7-1) will host Vermont in first round action on Nov. 19. The Eagles, who will be making their 13th appearance in the tournament, are returning to the field for the first time since 2012.

The defending national champion, Virginia (9-4-3) will begin 2015 tournament play when it hosts Rider in the first round. The Cavaliers are making their 35th-consecutive NCAA appearance, the longest current streak in the nation, and have won seven NCAA championships, the third most in Division I history.

An ACC team has won the national championship 17 times, including in seven of the past 10 years. At least one ACC squad has reached the College Cup in 14 straight seasons, while nine different league programs have reached the sport’s highest stage.

The first round will be played on Thursday, Nov. 19, followed by the second round on Sunday, Nov. 22. Third round games will be held on Nov. 28 or 29, and the quarterfinal games will be played on Dec. 4 or 5.  

The 2015 NCAA Men’s College Cup will be held at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kansas, on Dec. 11 and 13. For the complete bracket, visit