ACC Men’s Lacrosse Annual Individual Honors Announced

Duke’s Guterding, Notre Dame’s Landis, Syracuse’s Rice and Desko collect honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference has honored four individuals as recipients of the 2015 ACC Men’s Lacrosse annual awards, as voted on by the league’s five head coaches.

Syracuse senior attacker Kevin Rice was named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year, and Notre Dame junior defenseman Matt Landis garnered Defensive Player of the Year honors. Duke freshman attacker Justin Guterding earned Freshman of the Year honors, and Syracuse’s John Desko is the 2015 ACC Coach of the Year.

Rice, the 2015 ACC Championship most valuable player, leads the ACC in points per game with 4.85, while scoring a league-best five game-winning goals. In ACC games, Rice tallied 20 points on nine goals and an-ACC best 11 assists. Rice came up big at the ACC Championship, scoring five goals and six assists, while leading the Orange to its first league title.

Notre Dame’s Landis has led the Fighting Irish defense this season to yield just 9.10 goals per game. Landis has started in all 11 games and owns 22 ground balls and seven caused turnovers this season. Landis and the Irish won the ACC regular season title with a perfect 4-0 record and earned the No. 1 seed in the ACC Championship.

Guterding has scored a league-high 46 goals (16 games), including three game winners during his rookie season at Duke. He has contributed 3.88 points per game and 29 ground balls. The Garden City, New York, native totaled five goals during the ACC Championship, helping the fourth-seeded Blue Devils advance to the title game.

Desko’s Syracuse squad posted a 2-2 record in ACC play, and went on to capture the ACC Championship following wins over North Carolina (9-8) and Duke (15-14). At 11-2, the Orange are unbeaten in non-conference play and are poised to earn a seed in the NCAA Division I Lacrosse Championship as the ACC’s automatic qualifier. The Orange will be making their 35th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 16th under Desko’s watch. This is Desko’s second conference coach of the year honor, as he was named the Big East Coach of the Year following the 2011 season.