ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships Open on Thursday

Reggie Lewis Center hosts for second time; VT men, Clemson women enter as defending champions

ROXBURY CROSSING, Mass. ( – Boston College will serve as host for the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships, which will be held this Thursday (Feb. 25) through Saturday (Feb. 27) at the Reggie Lewis Center.

Virginia Tech enters as the defending men’s team champion, while Clemson’s women captured their fifth title in six years last year at Blacksburg, Virginia.

Four ACC men’s teams are among the nation’s top 20 in this week’s USTFCCCA rankings with Virginia Tech at No. 11, Syracuse at No. 14, NC State at No. 18 and Virginia at No. 23.
NC State currently holds the No. 9 spot in the women’s rankings, with Notre Dame at No. 13, Duke at No. 16 and Miami at No. 18.

In addition to ACC team and individual titles, conference student-athletes will seek to enhance their rankings heading into the 2016 NCAA Indoor Championships, scheduled for March 11-12 at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Alabama.

There is no charge for admission. 

The ACC and ESPN will deliver three hours of live action on the event’s final two days, concluding with the finals on Saturday. Jerry Massey will return for his fourth year handling play-by-play. Lauryn Williams, a former Miami sprinter and a medalist at the 2004 Athens Olympics, will make her debut as analyst. Coverage will begin on ESPN3 Friday from 5 until 8 p.m., followed by Saturday’s finals from 1 until 4 p.m.

A by-the-numbers look at the 2016 ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships:

2 – Florida State’s Bob Braman, Miami’s Amy Deem and Virginia Tech’s Dave Cianelli share the lead among active coaches for the most ACC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championship team titles with two each.

2 – The Reggie Lewis Center is playing host to the ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships for the second time after first hosting in 2012.

3 – Three ACC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championship records fell during last year’s event at Blacksburg, Va., and all three record-setters are back this season. Miami’s Shakima Wimbley posted a time of 23.08 in the 200, while Notre Dame’s Margaret Bamgbose checked in at 52.10 in the 400. Virginia Tech’s Hanna Green also had a record-setting run of 2:03.43 in the 800.

8 – Florida State’s Bob Braman leads all active coaches with eight ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field team Championship titles, all of which have come since 2004. Virginia Tech’s Dave Cianelli picked up his third last season and is second on the active list.

12 – Clemson leads all current ACC schools with 12 Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championship titles. Florida State is next with 10.

15 – Duke’s Megan Clark became only the fourth women’s collegian pole vaulter to clear 15 feet with her ACC record mark of 4.60 (15-1) at the Armory Invitational on February 7.

15 – North Carolina leads all schools with 15 ACC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championship team titles. Clemson is next with six.

15:31.62 – ACC and school record time posted by Boston College senior Liv Westphal in the women’s 5,000 meters as a junior during the 2014-15 season. Westphal owns this season’s second-fastest ACC time entering this week’s Championship.

18-5.25 – Virginia Tech’s Torben Laidig set a new ACC and school standard in the men’s pole vault by clearing 5.62 meters (18 feet, 5 ¼ inches) during the regular season. The attempt broke Laidig’s own conference and school record set just one week earlier.

30 – The 2016 ACC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championship will be the 30th in league history. The first ACC Women’s Championship was held in 1987 at Johnson City, Tennessee.

51.82 –Miami’s Shakima Wimbley established an ACC and school record with her time of 51.82 seconds in the 400 meters as a sophomore last season and owns the ACC’s second-fastest time this season heading into the 2016 Championship.

57 – The 2016 ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championship will be the 57th in the league’s 63-year history. No indoor championship was held between 1981 and 1986.

67-10.75 – Virginia’s Filip Mihaljevic broke the ACC & UVA record in the shot put with a NCAA-leading throw of 20.69m (67 feet, 10 ¾ inches), which is also an Olympic-standard mark.