'ACC Day' to be Held at Yankee Stadium On Sunday, August 9

Specially priced tickets offered to league alumni, fans for game versus Blue Jays

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) - The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today that "ACC Day" will be held at Yankee Stadium on Sunday, August 9, prior to the scheduled 1:05 p.m. game between the New York Yankees and the Toronto Blue Jays. 

All Atlantic Coast Conference schools and their alumni, faculty, students and fans can save up to 25 percent off on select seats for the game at Yankee Stadium. For details, please see www.yankees.com/ACCDAY. Please note that ticket specials are subject to availability.

"ACC Day" expands an existing partnership between the ACC and the New York Yankees and New Era Pinstripe Bowl. The ACC is entering the second year of a multi-year affiliation with the New Era Pinstripe Bowl, which is set to include a conference football team or Notre Dame through the 2019 season. The New Era Pinstripe Bowl is organized by the Yankees and includes the presentation of the George M. Steinbrenner Trophy to the winning team. This year's game will be played on December 26 at 3:30 p.m. at Yankee Stadium and will be televised by ABC.

"The ACC is proud to further our league's partnership with the New York Yankees and the New Era Pinstripe Bowl by offering our alumni and fans this opportunity," ACC Commissioner John Swofford said.

The current rosters of the Yankees and Blue Jays feature several ACC alumni, including three members of New York's pitching staff in Duke's Chris Capuano and the North Carolina tandem of Andrew Miller and Adam Warren. 

Other Yankees with ACC ties are first baseman Mark Teixeira (Georgia Tech) and infielder Stephen Drew (Florida State). FSU is also represented on the Toronto roster by second baseman Devon Travis, and Miami alumnus Danny Valencia has seen playing time in the outfield and multiple infield positions.

About the ACC 
The Atlantic Coast Conference, now in its 62nd year of competition and 15 members strong, has long enjoyed the reputation as one of the strongest and most competitive intercollegiate conferences in the nation. ACC members Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Notre Dame, Pitt, Syracuse, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest continue to build upon the cornerstones on which the league was founded in 1953 with a consistent balance of academics, athletics and integrity.  For more information, visit theACC.com and follow @theACC on Twitter and on facebook.com/theACC.

About the New Era Pinstripe Bowl
Established in 2010, the New Era Pinstripe Bowl has featured some of the most memorable moments in recent college football history. Known as "New York City's bowl game," it is played at the world-renowned Yankee Stadium, which is home to the New York Yankees, New York City Football Club and many other sporting, cultural and business events. The 2015 New Era Pinstripe Bowl will take place on Saturday, December 26, at 3:30 p.m., featuring participants from the ACC and Big Ten Conferences.