ACC Coaches Tab Florida State’s Thomas as Player Of The Year

Georgia Tech’s Pan is Freshman of Year; NC State’s Moore receives coaching honor

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Florida State junior forward Shakayla Thomas has been voted the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Year by the league’s 15 head coaches. 

Georgia Tech’s Francesca Pan was selected the ACC Freshman of the Year, and NC State’s Wes Moore earned ACC Coach of the Year honors.

Florida State’s Thomas, who was the ACC’s Sixth Player of the Year each of her first two collegiate seasons, has started all 29 games in which she has appeared in 2016-17. The Sylacauga, Alabama, native has led the Seminoles to a 25-6 overall record, a share of second place in the ACC regular-season standings and a top-10 national ranking. 

Named to the Naismith Trophy Top 30, Wooden Award and Wade Watch List, the 5-foot-11 Thomas leads FSU in scoring at 14.8 points per game while shooting .503 from the floor. She has pulled down 5.3 rebounds per game. 

Georgia Tech’s Pan ranks second on her team in scoring with a 10.9 ppg average that leads all ACC freshmen this season. She has recorded five 20-plus point games, including a career-high 25 points versus Dayton in the Junkanoo Jam in November, where she was named Tournament MVP. 

In conference-only games, the Italian native averaged 11.3 ppg to lead all freshmen, Pan has recorded 16 games scoring in double-figures and has started 29 of the 30 games in which she has appeared. Pan garnered ACC Rookie of the Week recognition five times, becoming the first Yellow Jacket since the 2010-11 season to earn five weekly honors. 

NC State’s Moore has guided the Wolfpack to a 22-8 overall record and a 12-4 mark in conference play that netted the No. 4 seed in the ACC Tournament. NC State’s 12 ACC wins are the most achieved by the program since the team also went 12-4 in league play during the 1997-98 season, the same year of the program's first trip to the Final Four.

Moore guided the Wolfpack to wins over four teams ranked among the nation’s top 15 during the regular season, including victories over top-10 conference opponents Notre Dame, Florida State and Louisville. NC State, which was tabbed for a seventh-place ACC finish by both the league’s Blue Ribbon panel and head coaches in their preseason polls, ended the regular season ranked No. 17 nationally. The ACC Coach of the Year honor is the first for Moore, who owns an 85-42 record in four seasons with the Wolfpack and a 643-211 mark in 28 years as a collegiate head coach. 

Senior Lindsay Allen and junior Brianna Turner represent four-time conference champion Notre Dame on the 10-member All-ACC First Team.  They join Florida State’s Thomas, Duke red-shirt junior Lexie Brown and red-shirt junior Rebecca Greenwell, sophomore Asia Durr of Louisville, senior Alexis Peterson and red-shirt senior Brittney Sykes of Syracuse, and NC State seniors Miah Spencer and Dominique Wilson.

Louisville juniors Myisha Hines-Allen and Mariya Moore, Miami seniors Adrienne Motley and Jessica Thomas, and Florida State senior Leticia Romero comprise the five-member All-ACC Second Team.

This year’s All-ACC First Team features the ACC’s top four scorers in Syracuse’s Peterson (23.3 points per game) and Sykes (19.0), Louisville’s Durr (18.8) and Duke’s Brown (18.3).

Notre Dame’s Turner leads the conference in field goal percentage (.624) and blocked shots (81), while teammate Allen has handed out a league-leading 7.6 assists per game –including 13 in Sunday’s 84-61 win over Duke in the ACC Tournament finals, and recently became the ACC’s all-time assists leader. Louisville’s Durr has knocked down a league-leading 108 shots from 3-point range.

Virginia leads the way with two student-athletes – guards Dominique Toussaint and Jocelyn Willoughby – voted to the eight-member 2016-17 All-ACC Freshman Team. They are joined by Clemson’s Kobi Thornton, Duke’s Leaonna Odom, Georgia Tech’s Pan, Notre Dame’s Jackie Young, Syracuse’s Gabby Cooper and Wake Forest’s Alex Sharp.

Notre Dame’s Turner, announced last week as the coaches’ choice as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, is joined on the All-Defensive team by Florida State’s Brittany Brown, Duke’s Brown and Syracuse’s Peterson and Sykes.

2016-17 ACC Head Coaches Season Honors

ACC Player of the Year: Shakayla Thomas, Jr., F, Florida State
ACC Freshman of the Year: Francesca Pan, Fr., G, Georgia Tech 
ACC Coach of the Year: Wes Moore, NC State

2016-17 All ACC Team (as selected by the head coaches) 
First Team 
Lexie Brown, R-Jr., G, Duke
Rebecca Greenwell, R-Jr., G, Duke 
Shakayla Thomas, Jr., F, Florida State
Asia Durr, So., G, Louisville
Miah Spencer, Sr., G, NC State
Dominique Wilson, Sr., G, NC State
Lindsay Allen, Sr., G, Notre Dame 
Brianna Turner, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Alexis Peterson, Sr., G, Syracuse 
Brittney Sykes, R-Sr., G, Syracuse 

Second Team 
Leticia Romero, Sr., G, Florida State
Myisha Hines-Allen, Jr., F, Louisville
Mariya Moore, Jr., F, Louisville
Adrienne Motley, Sr., G, Miami
Jessica Thomas, Sr., G, Miami 

All-Freshman Team 
Kobi Thornton, Fr., P, Clemson
Leaonna Odom, Fr., F, Duke
Francesca Pan, Fr., G, Georgia Tech
Jackie Young, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Gabby Cooper, Fr., G, Syracuse
Dominique Toussaint Fr., G, Virginia
Jocelyn Willoughby, Fr., G, Virginia
Alex Sharp, Fr., G, Wake Forest

All-Defensive Team 
Brittany Brown, Sr., G, Florida State
Lexie Brown, R-Jr., G, Duke             
Brianna Turner, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Alexis Peterson, Sr., G, Syracuse               
Brittney Skyes, R-Sr., G, Syracuse