ACC Boasts Four MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists


Brynjarsdottir, Brian, Bono, and Craven up for highest award in college soccer

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State’s Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Virginia’s Morgan Brian, North Carolina’s Andy Craven, and Syracuse’s Alex Bono have been selected as finalists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

Along with Brynjarsdottir and Brian, UCLA’s Sam Mewis rounds out the three women’s finalists. On the men’s side, UCLA’s Leo Stolz joins Craven and Bono as finalists.

This marks the second straight year that four of the six finalists have come from the ACC.

The ACC has swept the MAC Hermann Trophy awards each of the last two years and five times overall (1989, 1993, 1998, 2012, 2013). ACC men have claimed soccer’s top honor 17 times, while the women have done so 11 times.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award administered by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, and presented annually at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. This year’s trophy presentation and banquet will take place Friday, Jan. 9, 2015.

NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA College Services members voted for their top choices from the list of 15 men and 15 women named semifinalists in early December. Soccer fans were also encouraged to vote for their favorite player on the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome. The six semifinalists were the top vote-getters from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes.

For more information on all six finalists, visit: