ACC Baseball in CWS: Miami Falls to Arizona in Opener

Canes fall behind early and drop first game at TD Ameritrade

OMAHA ( – No. 3 national seed Miami dropped its 2016 World Series opener against Arizona at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha Saturday night, falling to the Wildcats by a final score of 5-1.

Arizona (45-21) jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the first inning, as Miami lefthander Michael Mediavilla struggled with his command in the early going.

The Wildcats loaded the bases on a walk and two hit batsman, and a bases-loaded walk drawn by Kyle Lewis put Arizona ahead 1-0. Jared Oliva then delivered a two-RBI double down the rightfield line, but was thrown out at third trying to stretch the hit into a triple, ending the inning.

The Hurricanes (50-13) got a run back in the fourth on an RBI single from redshirt junior Christopher Barr.
Senior Brandon Lopez opened the inning with a double, while junior Johnny Ruiz followed with a walk. Junior Jacob Heyward connected on a bunt single to load the bases, and Barr lined a 1-1 pitch from Arizona’s Nathan Bannister into right field to cut the deficit to 3-1.

After a challenging first inning, Mediavilla (11-2) retired nine of the next 10 batters he faced over the next three frames.

But Arizona pushed its lead to 5-1 in the fifth on a two-RBI double from Zach Gibbons.

Mediavilla departed after five innings, having allowed five runs on six hits with two walks. He threw 92 pitches before freshman Andrew Cabezas entered in relief to open the sixth.

Miami recorded eight hits off Bannister (12-2), who fanned a season high-tying 11 batters and walked three in seven innings. The Hurricanes stranded two runners in the second, bases loaded in the fourth, and nine in total with Bannister on the hill.

Cabezas did not allow any baserunners in two scoreless innings of relief. He struck out two batters across 31 pitches.
Freshman Frankie Bartow pitched a scoreless eighth and junior Bryan Garcia tossed a scoreless ninth.

The Hurricanes will face UC Santa Barbara in an elimination game on Monday, June 20. First pitch for the contest, slated for broadcast on ESPNU at 2 p.m. ET.