ACC Announces Seeds for 2015 Wrestling Championship

Host Pitt, Regular Season Champ Virginia Tech Each Nab Three Top Seeds

2015 Brackets in pdf | #ACCWrestle Championship Page

GREENSBORO, N.C.—Host Pitt and regular season ACC Champion Virginia Tech both garnered three of the No. 1 seeds for the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Wrestling Tournament, which will be held this Sunday at the Petersen Events Center on the campus of the University of Pittsburgh in Pittsburgh, Pa.

The seeds were determined by a vote of the six ACC head coaches. The brackets and seedings are subject to change until 5:30 p.m. on Saturday.

Pitt Panthers who earned top seeds included sophomore Mikey Racciato (Pen Argyl, Pa.)  at 149 pounds, and senior Tyler Wilps (Oakdale, Pa.) at 174 pounds and Max Thomusseit (St. Paris, Ohio)  at 184 pounds. Virginia Tech, also the defending ACC Wrestling Champion, saw sophomore Joey Dance (Christiansburg, Va.) at 125 pounds, senior Devin Carter (Christiansburg, Va.) at 141 pounds and junior Nick Brascetta (St. Paris, Ohio) at 157 pounds earn No. 1 seeds.

Also earning top seeds in their weight classes were Virginia sophomore George DiCamillo (Highland Heights, Ohio) at 133 pounds, North Carolina freshman Ethan Ramos (Hawthorne, N.J.) at 165, Duke junior Conner Hartmann (Port Orchard, Wash.)  at 197 and NC State junior Nick Gwiazdowski (Delanson, N.Y.) at 285 pounds.

Carter, Wilps, Hartmann and Gwiazdowski are looking to defend their ACC titles they won last year when the Championship was held in Blacksburg, Va. Gwiazdowski, who is also the defending national champion, enters this year’s Championship having won 48 consecutive matches.

The 2015 ACC Wrestling Championship Seeds: (Updated March 6)

125—1. Joey Dance, Virginia Tech;  2. Joe DeAngelo, NC State;  3. Nick Herrman, Virginia;  4. Dom Forys, Pitt;  5. Thayer Atkins, Duke;  6. Cody Karns, North Carolina.

133—1. George DiCamillo, Virginia;  2. Troy Heilmann, North Carolina;  3. Kevin Norstrem, Virginia Tech;4. Bryce Meredith, NC State;   5. Nick Zanetta, Pitt;  6. Mitch Finesilver, Duke.

141—1. Devin Carter, Virginia Tech;  2. Joey Ward, North Carolina;  3. Kevin Jack, NC State;4. Joe Spisak, Virginia;  5. Evan Botwin, Duke;  6. Ben Ross, Pitt.

149—1. Mikey Racciato, Pitt;  2. Sal Mastriani, Virginia Tech;  3. Christian Barber, North Carolina; 4. Marcus Cain, Duke;  5. T.J. Miller, Virginia; 6. Sam Speno, NC State.

157—1. Nick Brascetta, Virginia Tech;   2. Immanuel Kerr-Brown, Duke;  3. Andrew Atkinson, Virginia; 4. Ronnie Garbinsky, Pitt;  5. Chris Mears, North Carolina;  6. Chad Pyke, NC State.

165—1. Ethan Ramos, North Carolina;  2. Nick Sulver, Virginia;  3. Chad Strube, Virginia Tech; 4. Jake Faust, Duke;  5. Max Rohskopf, NC State;  6. Troy Reaghard, Pitt.

174—1. Tyler Wilps, Pitt;  2. Blaise Butler, Virginia;  3. Zach Epperly, Virginia Tech; 4. John Michael Staudenmayer, North Carolina;  5. Pete Renda, NC State;  6. Trey Adamson, Duke.

184—Max Thomusseit, Pitt;  2. Jacob Kasper, Duke;  3. Nicky Hall, NC State; 4. Tyler Askey, Virginia;  5. Scott Marmoll, North Carolina; 6. Tae Leary, Virginia Tech.

197—1. Conner Hartmann, Duke;  2. Zach Nye, Virginia;  3. Jared Haught, Virginia Tech; 4. Michael Boykin, NC State;  5. Chip Ness, North Carolina;  6. Nick Bonaccorsi, Pitt.

285—1. Nick Gwaizdowski, NC State;  2. Ty Walz, Virginia Tech;  3. Ryan Solomon, Pitt; 4. Patrick Gillen, Virginia;  5. Frank Abbondanza, North Carolina;  6. Brendan Walsh, Duke

Tickets for the one day championship are on sale now. Admission to the Petersen Events Center is $10 for adults and $5 for both youth 12-and-under and senior citizens. All tickets are general admission and can be purchased online, calling 800-643-PITT (7488), or visiting the Panthers Ticket Office located in the lobby of the Petersen Events Center. Tickets will also be available at the door on the day of the event.

The ACC Wrestling Championship begins at 11 a.m. and the gates will open at 10 a.m.


2015 ACC Wrestling Championship Schedule

Sunday, March 8, 2015, Petersen Events Center, University of Pittsburgh

    10 a.m.      Doors Open

    11 a.m.      First Round Matches

      1 p.m.      Semifinals

3:30 p.m.      Consolation Semifinals

5:03 p.m.      Consolation Finals

7:03 p.m.      Finals

Awards Presentation