ACC Announces Officers, Chairpersons for 2016-17 Academic Year

Clemson’s Clements to Chair Council of Presidents, North Carolina’s Broome to Serve as President

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The membership of the Atlantic Coast Conference has announced its slate of selected officers and chairpersons for the 2016-17 academic year. 

Dr. Jim Clements of Clemson assumes the role of Chair of the Council of Presidents, while Dr. Lissa Broome of the University of North Carolina begins her term as President of the Conference.

“The accomplished and experienced leadership within our ACC member institutions continues to be outstanding, and this year will be no exception,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “I’m confident President Clements and Dr. Broome will continue the efforts to best position our league for success in the upcoming year.”

Officers for 2016-17:
President: Dr. Lissa Broome, North Carolina
Vice-President: Dr. Reggie DesRoches, Georgia Tech
Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Marvin Dawkins, Miami

Chairs for 2016-17:
Chair of the Council of Presidents: Dr. Jim Clements, Clemson
Faculty Athletics Representative: Dr. Lissa Broome, North Carolina
Athletics Director: Bubba Cunningham, North Carolina
Senior Woman Administrators: Dr. Nicki Moore, North Carolina

The incoming chairpersons will continue the work of their 2015-16 predecessors, who just completed their year of leadership service:

Chair of the Council of Presidents: Dr. Randy Woodson, NC State Chancellor
Faculty Athletics Representative: Dr. Pamela Perrewé, Florida State
Athletics Director: Stan Wilcox, Florida State
Senior Woman Administrators: Vanessa Fuchs, Florida State