ACC Announces Honor Roll For 2014-2015 Academic Year

A record 4,143 student-athletes are recognized for classroom achievements

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The 59th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Honor Roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2014-15 academic year, was announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

The Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.0 or better for the full academic year. The conference recognized a record 4,143 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2014-15 academic year.

Duke led all schools with 478 student-athletes recognized. Boston College followed with 416 honorees, and Notre Dame saw 414 student-athletes achieve Honor Roll acclaim.

North Carolina saw 339 student-athletes recognized, followed by Virginia with 314 and Louisville with 285 in its first year of ACC membership. Syracuse was next with 266, followed by Pitt with 245, Virginia Tech with 238, Florida State with 214, NC State with 210, Clemson with 196, Wake Forest with 183, Georgia Tech with 173 and Miami with 172. 

Twenty-six student-athletes earned ACC Honor Roll status for the fifth time: Clemson’s Kevin Pohle (baseball); Duke’s Erica Brand (track & field), Kelby Brown (football), Phil Fairleigh (track & field/cross country), Dillon Haviland (baseball), Chris Mengel (tennis), Mike Rosenfeld (baseball), Jessie Rubin (track & field/cross country), Shannon Sullivan (track & field/cross country) and Meghan Thomas (soccer); Florida State’s Elizabeth Ichite (track & field/cross country); Georgia Tech’s Anders Albertson (golf), Alec Clifford (track & field/cross country) and Ollie Schniederjans (golf); North Carolina’s Kristin Aloi (gymnastics), Acacia Cosentino (gymnastics), Lianne Farber (track & field/cross country) and Mike Jacobs (cross country); NC State’s Ivan Sanchez Gomez (tennis), Tyler Purvis (football) and Jule Rich (track & field); Virginia Tech’s Devin Carter (wrestling), Courtney Dobbs (cross country), Shannon Mayrose (soccer) and Alex Watt (cross country), and Wake Forest’s Jordan Garside (football).

The Honor Roll features  13 ACC Men’s 2014-15 Performers of the Year in Clemson’s Matthew Crownover (baseball pitcher);  Duke’s Sean Davis (soccer midfielder);  Georgia Tech’s Schniederjans (golf); Miami’s Samuel Dorman (diving); NC State’s John Addison (outdoor field) and Nick Gwiazdowski (wrestling); Notre Dame’s Garrett McGrath (fencing epee), Ariel DeSmet (fencing foil) Jonathan Fitzgerald (fencing sabre), Patrick Hodan (soccer offensive) and Matt Landis (lacrosse defensive); Syracuse’s Martin Hehir (cross country) and Kevin Rice (lacrosse offensive).

A total of 25 ACC Women’s 2014-15 Performers of the Year were honored in Boston College’s  Olivia Adragna (fencing co-epee) and Liv Westphal (cross country); Duke’s Megan Clark (indoor field), Leona Maguire (golf), Elizabeth Williams (basketball defensive) and Kesley Williams (volleyball setter);  Florida State’s Dagny Brynjarsdottir (soccer), Colleen Quigley (outdoor track) and Lacey Waldrop (softball pitcher); Louisville’s Kelsi Worrell (swimming); Miami’s Savanah Leaf (volleyball); North Carolina’s Ece Taner (volleyball defensive), Jamie Loeb (women’s tennis) and Gillian Litynski (fencing sabre); Notre Dame’s Barbara Sullivan (lacrosse defensive), Emilee Koerner (softball), Ashley Severson (fencing co-epee) and Lee Kiefer (foil);  Syracuse’s Kayla Treanor (lacrosse offensive); Virginia’s Erin Briggs (rowing crew), Tessa Dikkers (rowing crew), Georgia Ratcliff (rowing crew) and Lizzy Youngling (rowing crew); Virginia Tech’s Kaylea Arnett (women’s diving), and Wake Forest’s Georgia Holland (field hockey defensive). 

The league saw 10 ACC Freshmen of the Year named to the honor roll: Duke’s Justin Guterding (men’s lacrosse) and Maguire (women’s golf), Florida State’s Chelsea Jarvis (indoor track & field) Louisville’s Brendan McKay (baseball) and Tim Kubel (men’s soccer), Miami’s Brad Kaaya (football), North Carolina’s Caroline Alcorta (women’s cross country) and Megan Buckingham (women’s soccer), NC State’s Anton Ipsen (men’s swimming and diving) and Virginia’s Rachel Vander Kolk (women’s lacrosse).