ACC Announces 2016 Men’s Soccer Awards

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Thirty-three student-athletes were recognized on Tuesday as part of the 2016 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer Team, as voted on by the league’s head coaches. 

The All-ACC Team is led by Notre Dame’s Jon Gallagher, the Offensive Player of the Year, Wake Forest’s Ian Harkes, the Midfielder of the Year, and Syracuse’s Miles Robinson, the Defensive Player of the Year. North Carolina’s Cam Lindley was named the Freshman of the Year, and Wake Forest’s Bobby Muuss was voted as Coach of the Year.

Gallagher leads the league in goals scored (12), goals per game (0.63), points (31), points per game (1.63), and is tied for second with seven assists on the season.  The 31 points ranks sixth in the country and is eight more than any other player in the conference. The junior from Dundalk, Ireland, is the third different Notre Dame player in the last four years to be named ACC Offensive Player of the Year, joining Harrison Shipp (2013) and Patrick Hodan (2014). 

Harkes and the Demon Deacons rank second nationally in goals allowed per game (0.43) and have posted 11 shutouts on the season, tied for the most in the country. Earlier in the year, they went 855:46 consecutively without allowing a goal, the longest streak in program history. The senior from Fairfax, Virginia, is the first Wake Forest player to be named ACC Midfielder of the Year since the award’s inception in 2014. 

Robinson leads a Syracuse defensive unit that is tied for fifth in the nation with 10 shutouts on the season and is seventh with 0.57 goals allowed per game. The sophomore from Arlington, Massachusetts, is the second Syracuse player in the last three years to be voted ACC Defensive Player of the Year, joining Alex Bono in 2014. 

A midfielder from Carmel, Indiana, Lindley has helped orchestrate a Tar Heel team that leads the league with 1.94 goals per game and is third in country with a 0.45 goals against average. He is tied for the team lead with six assists on the season, and is the first North Carolina player to be named ACC Freshman of the year since Danny Garcia in 2012. 

Under Muuss, the Demon Deacons repeated as ACC Atlantic Division Champions and earned a berth in the ACC semifinals for the second straight year, a first for the program since 2008-09. Currently ranked No. 2 in the country, Wake Forest is 13-2-3 and has posted five wins over ranked opponents this season. Muuss is the third coach in league history to win back-to-back Coach of the Year honors, joining Wake Forest’s Jay Vidovich (2008-09) and Virginia’s Bruce Arena (1988-89). 

North Carolina leads all schools with six players recognized on the All-ACC Teams, followed by Virginia and Wake Forest with five players. 

The 2016 ACC Men’s Soccer Championship continues on Wednesday, Nov. 9, with a pair of semifinal matches. No. 2 seed Wake Forest will host No. 3 Louisville, and No. 4 Clemson will welcome No. 8 Boston College. Both matches will be at 7 p.m. and will be streamed live on ACC Network Extra. 

2016 ACC Men’s Soccer Individual Awards
Coach of the Year – Bobby Muuss, Wake Forest
Offensive Player of the Year - Jon Gallagher, Notre Dame
Midfielder of the Year - Ian Harkes, Wake Forest
Defensive Player of the Year - Miles Robinson, Syracuse
Freshman of the Year - Cam Lindley, North Carolina

2016 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Teams
First Team 
Zeiko Lewis, Sr., F, Boston College
Tim Kubel, Jr., D, Louisville
Mohamed Thiaw, Jr., F, Louisville
Cam Lindley, Fr., M, North Carolina
Brandon Aubrey, Sr., D, Notre Dame
Jon Gallagher, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Chris Nanco, Sr., F, Syracuse
Miles Robinson, So., D, Syracuse
Alec Ferrell, Sr., G, Wake Forest
Ian Harkes, Sr., M, Wake Forest
Jacori Hayes, Sr., M, Wake Forest

Second Team
Diego Campos, Jr., F, Clemson
Oliver Shannon, Jr., M, Clemson
Brian White, Jr., F, Duke
Colton Storm, Sr., D, North Carolina
Alan Winn, Jr., F, North Carolina
Zach Wright, Jr., F, North Carolina
Julius Duchscherer, So., M, NC State
Pablo Aguilar, Jr., M, Virginia
Jeff Caldwell, Jr., G, Virginia
Edward Opoku, So., F, Virginia
Marcelo Acuna, Jr., F, Virginia Tech

Third Team
Patrick Bunk-Andersen, So., D, Clemson
Geoffrey Dee, Jr., M, Louisville
Daniel Johnson, Sr., M, Louisville
Walker Hume, Sr., D, North Carolina
James Pyle, So., G, North Carolina
Evan Panken, Gr., M, Notre Dame
Mo Adams, Fr., M, Syracuse
Jean-Christophe Koffi, So., M, Virginia
Sergi Nus, So., D, Virginia
Brad Dunwell, So., M, Wake Forest
Kevin Politz, Jr., D, Wake Forest

All-Freshman Team
Lasse Lehmann, Fr., M, Boston College
Malick Mbaye, Fr., D, Clemson
Tanner Dieterich, Fr., D, Clemson
Suniel Veerakone, Fr., M, Duke
Max Moser, Fr., M, Duke
Cam Lindley, Fr., M, North Carolina
Mauricio Pineda, Fr., M, North Carolina
Tommy McCabe, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Mo Adams, Fr., M, Syracuse
Robin Afamefuna, Fr., D, Virginia
Terrell Lowe, Fr., M, Virginia
Ema Twumasi, Fr., M, Wake Forest