Wake Forest: Countdown to Kickoff 2013



With 73 wins at Wake Forest, 13th year head coach Jim Grobe enters the 2013 season second on the school's all-time victory chart and only four shy of "Peahead" Walker's record of 77 set from 1937 through 1950 … This year's Demon Deacon squad returns 17 starters and 44 lettermen from 2012 .. The cast of returnees includes All-ACC WR Michael Campanaro, who leads all active ACC players with 162 catches … Senior QB Tanner Price has thrown for a career 6,666 yards and 39 touchdowns … Defensively, Wake is led by NG Nikita Whitlock, a second-team All-ACC selection in 2012 who has been named to both the 2013 Bronco Nagurski and the Outland Trophy Watch Lists … Whitlock finished last season with 51 tackles in 10 games, including 17 solo stops and has 28.5 career tackles for loss … The Demon Deacons open the season with a Thursday night game vs. Presbyterian (Aug. 29) and a Friday night ACC road trip to Boston College (Sept. 6).

Numbers & Notes

1.7% - Wake Forest senior QB Tanner Price had the best interception avoidance rate of any ACC starting quarterback in 2012, 1.7 percent. Price threw only 7 interceptions in 410 pass attempts.
Price’s career interception avoidance is alsmost as good, 1.95 percent, with just 21 picks in 1,073 pass attempts.

7.9 - Senior WR Michael Campanaro averaged 7.9 catches per game in 2012, the second-highest per-game average in ACC history. Campanaro, who was limited to just 10 games on the year due to injuries, had 79 catches.

8 - Junior CB Kevin Johnson ranked 8th nationally in 2012 in passes defended. Johnson had 15 pass deflections and three pass interceptions, averaging 1.50 passes defended per game.

9 - The number of Texas natives on the Wake Forest roster this year including starters QB Tanner Price (Austin), RB Joshua Harris (Duncanville) and NG Nikita Whitlock (Wylie)

73 - Wake Forest head coach Jim Grobe has won more games than any other coach with the exception of D.C. “Peahead” Walker, who won 77 games in a 14-year span as the Deacons head coach from 1937-1950. Grobe, the longest tenured head coach in the ACC, has posted 73 wins in 12 seasons with the Deacons and with five more triumphs this fall will become Wake Forest’s all-time winningest football head coach.

2012 In Review
Without question the 2012 football season was not a typical one for Wake Forest and its veteran coach Jim Grobe...The Deacons came close to earning their second straight post-season bowl trip, but close losses to Duke and Maryland by a combined 12 points and a late-season slide which resulted in the Deacons dropping their final three games caused them to just miss qualifying for postseason play...Injuries and inexperience in Wake offensive line and injuries to key performers were the culprits as the Deacons’ line situation was really never settled and the loss of All-ACC WR Michael Campanaro against the Blue Devils and Terrapins proved to be too much for Grobe’s crew to overcome...Despite missing two full games and most of a third, Campanaro performed at a high level, setting an ACC single-season record for per-game pass reception average (7.9), making 79 catches for 763 yards and 6 TDs...Three times Campanaro topped 12 catches in a game, including an ACC record-tying 16 grabs in the Deacs’ win over Boston College...The versatile wideout also ran for a TD and threw a touchdown pass to earn 2nd-team All-ACC honors... QB Tanner Price threw for 2,300 yards and 12 TDs, including a 327-yard effort in an upset win over North Carolina...NT Nikita Whitlock also earned second-team All-ACC honors while CB Kevin JohnsonS A.J. Marshall and P Alex Kinal were all named Honorable Mention All-ACC.

Who’s Gone
The Deacons only lose seven starters from last year, four on offense and three on defense. Offensively, C Garrick Williams, WR Terence Davis, Wake’s second-leading receiver, and FB Tommy Bohannon, who had 5 pass receptions for touchdowns, will be missed as will be ILB Riley Haynes (60 tackles), OLB Joey Ehrmann (50 tackles) and CB Chibuikum Okoro on defense.

2013 Preview
Wake returns 17 starters among its 44 lettermen who will be back from last year, including seven starters on offense and eight on defense and both starting PK Chad Hedlundand P Alex Kinal... Campanaro, who leads all active ACC players with 162 catches; Price, who is back for his fourth season as a starter; and RB’s Josh Harris (608 yds) and DeAndre Martin (484 yds) are the beginnings of an effective offense. Heading into fall camp, Wake is still looking to stabilize the offensive line and develop a consistent ground game as well as finding complementary receiving threats to Campanaro...The Deacons return three starters on the offensive line in Whit Barnes, who moves to center and Gs Frank Souza and Antonio Ford (who missed spring practice with an injury but returns this fall)...A fourth starter,  T Colin Summers will miss the 2013 season due to a medical condition... Sophomore Dylan Intemann and Steven Chase emerged from spring as the starters at tackle with T Hunter Goodwin, Gs Joel Suggs, Cody Preble and Ty Hayworth competing for playing time... Running back convert Orville Reynolds impressed at wide receiver in the spring and will compete with junior Brandon Terry (15 catches, 19.3 avg.), junior Matt James, redshirt freshman Jonathan Williams and sophomore Brad Idzik for playing time...Senior Spencer Bishop and junior Dan Voglesang will handle the tight end position...The Deac’s Defense returns 8 starters to its 3-4 allignment, led by Whitlock (3 sacks, 5.5 TFLs) and DEs Zach Thompson (4 sacks) and  Kristopher Redding (3.5 sacks). Two starters also return at linebacker in WLB Mike Olson and OLB Justin Jackson... Sophomore MLB Brandon Chubb heads into the fall as a starter with redshirt freshman Teddy Matthews in reserve puhing him for playing time...Redshirt freshman Kevis Jones ended spring ahead of sophomore Hunter Williams in the competition for the other OLB spot...A pair of Honorable Mention All-ACC performers in CB Kevin Johnson, who finished 8th nationally in passes defended (18), and FS A.J. Marshall, lead a secondary that also includes CBs Merrill Noel and Allen Ramsey and SSs Ryan Janvion and James Ward