Maryland's Katie Schwarzmann Leads 2013 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse Team Announced


GREENSBORO, N.C. – Maryland senior Katie Schwarzmann has been named the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

A double major in management and marketing, Schwarzmann won the Tewaaraton Award for the second time, was named the IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year and the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, and was selected to the IWLCA All-America First Team and the All-ACC Team. She led the Terrapins to their fifth straight conference title and was named ACC Championship Most Valuable Player for her performance.

Schwarzmann, who was also the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for 2012, earned Dean’s List honors in both the fall and spring semesters to claim a spot on the All-ACC Academic Team for the fourth time in her career. It is the fifth straight year that a Maryland Terrapin has been selected for the league’s top academic award.

All six of the league’s ACC women’s lacrosse programs are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, led by Duke with eight selections. Maryland and Virginia Tech both have six players on the squad, followed by Boston College and Virginia with five and North Carolina with two players recognized.

Led by Schwarzmann with her four appearances, 18 student-athletes have been selected to the conference’s academic team multiple times. Boston College’s Moira Barry, Duke’s Molly Quirke and Taylor Virden, Virginia’s Megan Dunleavy, and Virginia Tech’s Brooke Martin garnered their third career accolades.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2013 All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team
Moira Barry (3) Boston College Jr. Psychology
Claire Blohm (2) Boston College Jr. Biology
Caroline Ceglarski (2) Boston College Jr. Applied Psych and Human Development
Kara O’Connell Boston College Jr. Nursing
Mikaela Rix Boston College So. Finance
Madison Acton Duke Fr. Undeclared
Makenzie Hommel (2) Duke Sr. Sociology
Lauren Martin (2) Duke Sr. Sociology
Maddy Morrissey (2) Duke Jr. Psychology
Molly Quirke (3) Duke Jr. Public Policy
Brigid Smith Duke So. Public Policy
Taylor Trimble (2) Duke So. Public Policy
Taylor Virden (3) Duke Jr. Visual and Media Studies
Melissa Diepold Maryland Sr. Secondary Education and History
Megan Douty Maryland So. Kinesiology
Brooke Griffin Maryland So. Kinesiology
Katherine Howard Maryland Sr. Hearing and Speech Sciences
Halle Majorana Maryland Fr. Letters and Sciences
Katie Schwarzmann (4) Maryland Sr. Management and Marketing
Taylor George (2) North Carolina Jr. Journalism
Megan Ward North Carolina Fr. Undeclared
Elizabeth Blue (2) Virginia Jr. Kinesiology
Megan Dunleavy (3) Virginia Sr. Economics
Daniela Eppler (2) Virginia So. Arts & Sciences Undeclared
Madeline Keeshan Virginia Jr. History
Courtney Swan Virginia So. Kinesiology
Meghan Macera Virginia Tech Fr. Art
Charlotte Marsh (2) Virginia Tech Sr. Biology
Brooke Martin (3) Virginia Tech Sr. Communication
Kelly Naslonski Virginia Tech Jr. HNFE
Libby Rosebro (2) Virginia Tech Sr. Studio Art
Megan Will (2) Virginia Tech So. Human Development
(#) – Career ACC Academic honors