Weaver Wins 2013-14 Bob Bradley Spirit and Courage Award

Photo by Sara D. Davis/theACC.com

Former Virginia Tech athletic director Jim Weaver is the winner of the eighth annual Bob Bradley Spirit and Courage Award from the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Weaver retired in December after 17 years with the Hokies, the second-longest tenure in school history. Diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease in 2004, he also battled chronic back and hip pain, enduring several surgeries and rounds of therapy.

Throughout, Weaver retained his love for his work and school, shepherding Virginia Tech’s move to the Atlantic Coast Conference, directing myriad facility upgrades and overseeing quantum improvement in the Hokies’ athletic and academic performances.

Virginia Tech president Charles W. Steger said, “I am delighted to see Jim recognized by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association for his contributions to Hokie sports and to ACC athletics. Jim committed himself to athletics excellence  and worked to advance the education and opportunities of student athletes, even while he battled multiple health problems.   Jim is highly deserving of this award.”

Weaver is a 1967 graduate of Penn State, where he played football and worked as an assistant coach. He served as athletic director at Nevada-Las Vegas and Western Michigan before going to Virginia Tech.

The National Football Foundation in 2009 presented Weaver with its John L. Toner Award, which honors athletics directors who have demonstrated superior administrative abilities in college football.

ACSMA will present Weaver with the Bradley Award during the first game of the ACC Tournament round of 16 on Thursday, March 13 in Greensboro, NC.

A joint venture of the ACC and ACSMA, the Bradley Award is given annually in memory of the longtime sports information director at Clemson University whose positive attitude inspired all who knew him as he battled cancer. The distinction goes to an ACC student-athlete, coach or administrator in men’s or women’s basketball who has overcome significant hardship to contribute to his or her team.


2006  Tony Bethel, North Carolina State

2007  Debbie Ryan, Virginia; Kay Yow, North Carolina State

2008  Matt Zitani, Florida State

2009  Adrian Thomas, Miami

2010  D’Andre Bell, Georgia Tech

2011  Jessica Breland, North Carolina

2012  Bernard James, Florida State

2013  Dick Kelley, Boston College

2014  Jim Weaver, Virginia Tech



The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference.