@ACCWSoccer: Virginia’s Morgan Brian Named Soccer America Women’s Player of the Year


Eight ACC student-athletes named to Soccer America MVPs Teams

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia junior midfielder Morgan Brian, who led Virginia to a 20-0-0 start and its first appearance in the Women’s College Cup in 22 years, has been named the 2013 Soccer America Women’s Player of the Year.

Brian is the first Virginia player to win the award and is the 12th different ACC women’s soccer player to be named Soccer America’s Player of the Year. An ACC women’s soccer player has earned the honor 14 times.

Brian, a NSCAA First Team All-America and First Team All-ACC selection in 2013, was the one of the ACC’s leading scorers with 46 points on 16 goals and 14 assists, while the Cavaliers boasted the nation’s top offense that scored a program record 78 goals in 2013. She also made three appearances for the United States Women’s National Team in 2013, scoring her first international goal against Mexico on Sept. 3.

Brian was also named to the 2013 Soccer America MVPs First Team, which honors the players who have had the biggest impact on their team’s success regardless of position. She is a finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy, which will be awarded on Friday, Jan. 10.

Along with Brian, fellow Cavalier sophomore forward Makenzy Doniak, Florida State junior midfielder Dagny Brynjarsdottir and senior defender Kassey Kallman, North Carolina senior midfielder Crystal Dunn, Notre Dame sophomore midfielder Cari Roccaro and Virginia Tech senior forward Jazmine Reeves were also recognized on the first team. Boston College junior forward Stephanie McCaffrey was named to the second team.

Seven ACC freshmen were named to Soccer America’s All-Freshman Teams. Florida State midfielder Nickolette Driesse, Notre Dame midfielder Morgan Andrews and Virginia goalkeeper Morgan Stearns collected All-Freshman First Team honors, while Clemson goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan, Duke forward Toni Payne and defender Christina Gibbons, and Virginia Tech forward Murielle Tiernan were named to the second team.