2014 U.S. Open Field Includes 15 ACC Golfers

Play gets underway today at Pinehurst

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Fifteen golfers from ACC schools will tee off today at the 114th U.S. Open Championship at Pinehurst Resort and Country Club in Pinehurst, North Carolina. Eight different league programs will be represented at the championship.

Two of the last five U.S. Open champions played in the ACC, with Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson winning in 2012 and Clemson’s Lucas Glover in 2009. Georgia Tech’s Stewart Cink, The Open Championship winner in 2009, also has a major victory on his resume. 

Florida State’s Jonas Blixt (T-2) and Georgia Tech’s Matt Kuchar (T-5) both were in contention on Sunday at the Masters in April and finished in the top five.

Seven players from current ACC schools have won the championship in the past. The group has combined for 11 U.S. Open titles and includes Clemson’s Glover, Florida State’s Hubert Green, Georgia Tech’s Bobby Jones, North Carolina’s Raymond Floyd, and Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer, Curtis Strange, and Simpson.

Golfers from ACC Schools at the 2014 U.S. Open
Lucas Glover, Clemson
Joe Ogilvie, Duke
Kevin Streelman, Duke
Ryan Blaum, Duke
Daniel Berger, Florida State
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech
Garth Mulroy, NC State
Mark Wilson, North Carolina
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest