Three Former ACC Players Named to U.S. World Cup Squad


Maryland’s Gonzalez and Zusi, Boston College’s Bedoya headed to Brazil; Current ACC member Notre Dame will also be represented

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Three former ACC student-athletes were named to the 23-man U.S. Men’s National Team roster for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, announced Thursday by head coach Jurgen Klinsmann.

Maryland’s Omar Gonzalez, the 2007 ACC Defensive Player of the Year, and 2008 All-ACC honoree Graham Zusi will be headed to Brazil. Boston College’s Alejandro Bedoya, a two-time All-American and the 2007 ACC Offensive Player of the Year, also earned the nod.

In addition to the three former ACC players, Matt Besler will become the first former Notre Dame student-athlete in program history to represent the U.S. at the World Cup.

The U.S. MNT will play three matches in its Send-Off Series from May 27-June 7 in San Francisco, New York and Jacksonville, Florida. The 2014 FIFA World Cup gets underway Thursday, June 12, while the U.S. squad will start play on June 16 against Ghana.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)