Seventeen ACC Men Selected to Tewaaraton Watch List


Lacrosse’s top honor to be selected on May 29

NEW YORK  – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men's watch list presented by Panama Jack, with 17 ACC student-athletes recognized. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award.

The seventeen league representatives are more than twice as many as from any other conference. Syracuse and Virginia tied for the national lead with four players from each team named to the watch list.

ACC student-athletes have won five times in the 13-year history of the award. Past winners include Virginia’s Chris Rotelli in 2003, Virginia’s Matt Ward in 2006, Duke’s Matt Danowski in 2007, Duke’s Ned Crotty in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick in 2011. Syracuse, in its first year in the ACC, has had an additional three players win the award.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10. On April 24, the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot. Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on May 8 and will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.

ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Men’s Watch List
Brendan Fowler, Duke - Sr., F/O
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Sr., A
Niko Amato, Maryland - Sr., G
Mike Chanenchuk, Maryland - Sr., M
Michael Ehrhardt, Maryland - Sr., D
Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Jr., A
Chad Tutton, North Carolina - Jr., M
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Soph., A
Stephen O'Hara, Notre Dame - Sr., D
Dylan Donahue, Syracuse - Soph., A
Matt Harris, Syracuse - Sr., LSM
Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Jr., A
Randy Staats, Syracuse - Jr., A/M
Mark Cockerton, Virginia - Sr., A
Rob Emery, Virginia - Sr., M
Chris LaPierre, Virginia - Sr., M
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Sr., D