Record Nine ACC Women’s Golf Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Bids


ACC Champion Duke earns No. 1 Seed in NCAA East Regional


GREENSBORO, N.C. - Nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams have earned bids to the 2014 NCAA Women’s Golf Championships, the NCAA Women’s Golf Selection Committee announced this evening on its annual selection show.

The nine regional invitations eclipse the league’s previous best of seven teams set originally in 2006 and matched in 2007, 2010 and 2013.

All nine ACC schools will begin NCAA Regional play on May 8.

Duke, which captured its third straight ACC Championship a week ago in Greensboro, was named the No. 1 seed in the East Regional, which will be hosted by Florida State University at the SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee, Florida. The Blue Devils, ranked third nationally in last week’s rankings, will be joined in Tallahassee by three other ACC schools in 20th-ranked Virginia, 23rd-ranked NC State and No. 32 Florida State. The Cavaliers are seeded seventh while NC State is No. 9 and the host Seminoles 10th.

North Carolina, ranked 21st nationally, and No. 28 Miami, will both play in the NCAA Central Regional, which will be hosted by Oklahoma State University at the Karsten Creek Golf Club in Sillwater, Okla. The Tar Heels are seeded eighth in the regional with the Hurricanes 10th.

Three ACC teams - Clemson, Wake Forest and Notre Dame - were selected to play in the NCAA West Regional, which is hosted by the University of Washington at the Tumble Creek Club, Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Washington. The 13th-ranked Tigers are seeded fifth, the 18th-ranked Demon Deacons are the No. 6 seed while the 54th-ranked Irish are the regional’s 18th seed.

A total of eight teams and two individuals from each Regional will advance to the NCAA National Championship, which will be held May 20-23 at the Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma.