Nine @ACCMTennis Teams Earn Spots in NCAA Field


Virginia looks to defend NCAA team title

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Fourth-seeded Virginia leads a group of nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams in the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship field. Seventh-seeded North Carolina, 11th-seeded Duke, 13th-seeded Notre Dame, Wake Forest, Florida State, NC State, Clemson and Virginia Tech also earned spots in the Championship, as announced by the NCAA early Tuesday evening.

First and second-round competition takes place May 9-11 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 16-20. The event will be hosted by Georgia. 

The individual singles and doubles championships will also be held in Athens following the NCAA Team Championships. That competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 21 and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 26. Individuals selected to compete in those championships will be announced on Wednesday evening.

Virginia, North Carolina, Duke and Notre Dame will each serve as host sites for the first and second rounds of the Championship. The Cavaliers (23-2), which won the 2013 NCAA Team Championship, will open their NCAA title defense by taking on Army (20-5). The Tar Heels (24-5) will be pitted against South Carolina State (9-7), while the Blue Devils (19-6) will square off against Winthrop (16-9). The Fighting Irish (19-9), representing the ACC for the first time at the NCAAs, will play Green Bay (18-7).

Other first round matchups include Virginia Tech (14-11) versus Vanderbilt (16-10), Wake Forest (14-13) taking on Louisville (21-6), Florida State (18-11) against South Florida (18-6), NC State (17-9) playing Oregon (17-9) and Clemson (20-8) squaring off against Purdue (15-7).