2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Brinson Paolini of Duke heads up the 2013 All-ACC Academic Team. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named after Rod Myers, Duke's men's golf coach from 1973-2007.

Paolini, a senior psychology major, is a four-time All-ACC Academic member, a two-time All-ACC team honoree and the 2013 recipient of the Byron Nelson Award as the nation's top senior collegiate player. The Virginia Beach, Va., native was named to the PING All-America second team by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) after leading Duke to a school-record five tournament victories, including the 2013 ACC Championship. Paolini had an outstanding senior season, finishing with the second-best single season stroke average (71.48) in school history and closed out the season ranked 22nd in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings.

Six golfers who earned All-ACC honors this season secured spots on the 2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team: Duke’s Paolini, Georgia Tech's Anders Albertson and Ollie Schniederjans, Florida State’s Hank Lebioda, Virginia Tech’s Scott Vincent and Wake Forest’s Evan Beck.

In addition to Paolini, three other golfers - Wake Forest's Evan Beck, Clemson's Crawford Reeves and Duke's Julian Suri - are four-time academic honorees. Earning all-academic recognition for a third time are Georgia Tech's Bo Andrews, Virginia Tech's Bryce Chalkley, Wake Forest's Charles Harrison. In all, a total of 14 golfers are repeat honorees from the 2012 All-ACC Academic team.

Ten of the 11 ACC schools that compete in men's golf are represented on this year's academic Team. Clemson, Duke and Georgia Tech led the way with four honorees. Virginia Tech and Wake Forest claimed three players each while Florida State and North Carolina both placed two players. Boston College, Maryland and Virginia landed one player each to complete the team.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.


2013 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team
Name, Class, School Major
Anders Albertson, So., Georgia Tech** Management
Bo Andrews, Sr., Georgia Tech*** Management
Bailey Patrick, So., North Carolina** Economics
Evan Beck, Sr., Wake Forest**** Finance
Stephen Behr, So., Clemson Financial Management
Stephen Bosdosh, Sr., Maryland** Business
Miller Capps, Fr., Clemson Political Science
Bryce Chalkley, Jr., Virginia Tech*** Finance & Accounting
Ryan Coughlin, Gr., Boston College Management
Charles Harrison, Sr., Wake Forest*** Religion
Maclain Huge, Fr., Virginia Tech Business
William Kennerly, So., Clemson** Financial Management
Hank Lebioda, Fr., Florida State Business
Doug Letson, Sr., Florida State** Economics
Mac McLaughlin, Sr., Virginia Government
Brinson Paolini, Sr., Duke**** Psychology
Crawford Reeves, Sr., Clemson**** Marketing
Seth Reeves, Sr., Georgia Tech Management
Andrew Sajevic, Jr., North Carolina Economics
Ollie Schniederjans, So., Georgia Tech** Management
Mads Soegaard, Fr., Duke Undeclared
Adam Sumrall, Sr., Duke** Political Science
Julian Suri, Sr., Duke**** History
Scott Vincent, So., Virginia Tech** Finance
Davis Womble, Fr., Wake Forest Undeclared
**denotes two-time selection
***denotes three-time selection
****denotes four-time selection