UNC's Levy Named National Coach of the Year by IWLCA

CHAPEL HILL (GoHeels.com) - The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association has joined Inside Lacrosse by naming Tar Heel head coach Jenny Levy as its national coach of the year, the IWLCA announced on Monday.

      North Carolina's Jenny Levy
North Carolina's Jenny Levy

Levy led the Tar Heels to their first NCAA championship this spring, capturing the national title with a triple-overtime, 13-12 sudden-victory win over top-seeded and previously undefeated Maryland in the final game.  

To advance to the title game, UNC defeated Northwestern, 11-4, in the semifinals, limiting the Wildcats to a season low in goals and beating the defending NCAA champions for a second time this season.  

Levy led Carolina to the program's seventh appearance in the NCAA Tournament semifinals and its second national title game berth in 18 seasons, all under Levy's tutelage.  

Levy is the fourth coach to win an NCAA title as both a player and a head coach, and is the sixth-winningest coach in NCAA women's lacrosse history (in number of wins). The Tar Heels went 18-3 in 2013, setting a new UNC record for most victories in a season.

Three other Division I coaches were honored as Regional Coaches of the Year, including Syracuse's Gary Gait, Penn State's Missy Doherty, and Denver's Liza Kelly. Gait wins the honor for the second consecutive year; all three led their squads to the NCAA tournament in 2013.

The IWLCA also recognized 14 coaches as 2013 regional coaches of the year, with three being honored as National Coach of the Year. Divisional champions Jim Nestor (Salisbury), Meghan McNamara (C. W. Post) and Levy each led their teams to the NCAA title and were selected by their peers to receive the national recognition.