Four from @ACCMGolf Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List


Georgia Tech’s Albertson and Schniederjans, Virginia’s McCarthy, and Virginia Tech’s Vincent recognized

FORT WORTH, Texas – Four Atlantic Coast Conference golfers have been named to the 2014 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List.

Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America announced the list Wednesday, the largest since 33 players were named in 2004.

The ACC is represented on the watch list by Georgia Tech’s Anders Albertson and Ollie Schniederjans, Virginia’s Denny McCarthy, and Virginia Tech’s Scott Vincent. All four players are ranked in the top 25 nationally by both Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin.

The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.

A list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the current list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 16. On Wednesday, May 7, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club on Sunday, May 18, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

ACC student-athletes have won the award four times: Clemson’s Kyle Stanley in 2009, Wake Forest’s Bill Haas in 2004, Clemson’s D.J. Trahan in 2002, and North Carolina’s Mark Wilson in 1996.

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.

For the full Ben Hogan Award Watch List release, visit