Eight @ACCWSoccer Teams Selected for the NCAA Championship

Conference teams earn all four No. 1 seeds

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Highlighted by a sweep of all four number one seeds, the Atlantic Coast Conference placed eight teams in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship field announced Monday afternoon. The ACC’s four number one seeds mark the first time in NCAA history all four number one seeds have come from the same conference.

ACC regular-champion Virginia (20-1-0) was awarded the overall No. 1 national seed, while ACC Champion Florida State (18-1-3), 2013 ACC Championship runner-up Virginia Tech (16-4-2) and 2012 NCAA Champion North Carolina (17-4-0) also received No. 1 seeds. It is third straight year the Seminoles have earned a No. 1 seed (fourth overall), while the Tar Heels earned a No. 1 seed for the 22nd time in program history. The No. 1 seeds for Virginia and Virginia Tech are program firsts for the Cavaliers and the Hokies.

Boston College (10-9-1), Duke (8-8-4), Notre Dame (11-7-1) and Wake Forest (10-6-2) join those four schools in the field of 64, with the Eagles, Fighting Irish and Demon Deacons serving as hosts for first round games.

The eight ACC teams selected to the 2013 NCAA Championship field ties for the most of any conference with the Big Ten. This is the 11th straight year that at least seven ACC teams have made the NCAA Tournament field, and the 15th straight year that at least six have been selected. Play begins for all eight ACC teams this weekend (Nov. 15-16).

North Carolina will be seeking its 22nd NCAA Championship and 23rd national title overall. The Tar Heels are the only Division I program that has earned a spot in the NCAA Championship  each of the last 32 years since its inception in 1982 and owns a 115-8-3 record in the event.

Several other ACC teams will extend notable streaks with this year’s NCAA appearances. Notre Dame will play in its 21st NCAA Tournament and is in search of its fourth title. Virginia is in the field for the 20th straight year and 26th overall. Wake Forest is competing for its 18th straight year. Florida State has been part of the tournament every year since 2000 (14 straight appearances), and has reached the College Cup six times during that run, including each of the past two seasons.

It marks the 11th straight tournament appearance for Duke and the Blue Devils’ 20th overall. Boston College is also appearing for the 11th straight year (17th overall), and Virginia Tech made the field for the sixth straight year (seventh overall).

First-round matches will be played at campus sites Nov. 15 and 16. First round matches include Virginia hosting Saint Francis (PA) (13-7-1), Florida State hosting South Alabama (13-5-2), North Carolina hosting Liberty (16-5-1),  Virginia Tech hosting UMBC (13-5-2), Wake Forest hosting Morehead St (10-10-1), Notre Dame hosting Iowa (15-6-1) and Boston College hosting Northeastern (6-8-6). Duke will play its first round match in Colorado Springs, Colo., at Colorado College (15-4-2).

Second round matches will be played Friday, Nov. 22, at campus sites, and third-round matches will be played Sunday, Nov. 24, at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal matches will be played Nov. 29 and 30 also on campus sites.

The 32nd annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played Dec. 6 and Dec. 8 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. The first national semifinal will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m., and the second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. and air live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place Sunday, Dec. 8 at 3 p.m., and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.