Eleven @ACCMGolf-ers Start Play at the Masters on Thursday


ACC leads all conferences with 11 and has four former major winners in the field

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Eleven golfers representing seven Atlantic Coast Conference schools are set to begin play at the 2014 Masters Tournament in Augusta, Ga., April 10-13. The 11 from the ACC is the most from any conference in the country.

Georgia Tech has the most former golfers from the ACC with four: Matt Kuchar, 2009 The Open Championship winner Stewart Cink, Roberto Castro, and Larry Mize, the 1987 Masters champion who is making his 31st appearance in the tournament. The four Yellow Jackets in the field are tied with Georgia for the most from any school in the nation.

Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson, the 2012 US Open champion, and Bill Haas will represent the Demon Deacons at the Masters.

Clemson’s Lucas Glover, the 2009 US Open winner, is in the field for the seventh time in his career. NC State’s Tim Clark, the 2006 Masters runner-up, is making his 13th appearance at Augusta National, while Duke’s Kevin Streelman is making his third.

For two more golfers – Florida State’s Jonas Blixt and Virginia Tech’s Brendon de Jonge – the 2014 Masters will be their debut at the event. Blixt earned his spot with a top-four finish at the 2013 PGA Championship in his second career start in a major, while de Jonge claimed his by qualifying for last year’s Tour Championship.

Four golfers from current ACC schools have won a combined seven Masters. Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer has won four times, which is tied for the second-most in history with Stanford’s Tiger Woods behind only Ohio State’s Jack Nicklaus with six. Duke’s Art Wall, Jr., Georgia Tech’s Mize, and North Carolina’s Raymond Floyd have also been victorious in Augusta.

The 2014 tournament gets underway Thursday morning at 7:45 a.m. with Cink and Clark in the first pairing.