Eighteen ACC Women Selected to Tewaaraton Watch List


Lacrosse’s top honor to be selected on May 29

NEW YORK   -  The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award women's watch list presented by Panama Jack with 18 ACC student-athletes recognized. The list  includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award.

The eighteen league representatives are more than twice as many as from any other conference. Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, Syracuse, and Virginia all tied for the national lead with three players from each team named to the watch list.

ACC student-athletes have won six times in the 13-year history of the award, including Katie Schwarzmann of Maryland, who won the award the past two years. The other ACC winners are Maryland’s Jen Adams in 2001, Virginia’s Amy Appelt in 2004, Duke’s Katie Chrest in 2005, and Maryland’s Caitlyn McFadden in 2010.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10. On April 24, the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot. Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on May 8 and will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.

ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Women’s Watch List
Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., A
Kelsey Duryea, Duke - Soph., G
Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Sr., D
Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M
Brooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., A
Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., M
Abbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., A
Aly Messinger, North Carolina - Soph., A
Sloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., D
Barb Sullivan, Notre Dame - Jr., D
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A
Katie Webster, Syracuse - Sr., M
Casey Bocklet, Virginia - Jr., A
Morgan Stephens, Virginia - Jr., M
Courtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., A