Eight @ACCWTennis Teams Earn Spots in NCAA Field


Cavaliers earn ACC’s top seed

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Third-seeded Virginia leads a group of eight Atlantic Coast Conference teams in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship field. Fourth-seeded Duke, seventh-seeded North Carolina, 12th-seeded Miami, 13th-seeded Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech and Notre Dame also earned spots in the Championships, as announced by the NCAA early Tuesday evening.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 9-10 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 15-20. The event will be hosted by Georgia. 

The individual singles and doubles championships will also be held in Athens following the NCAA Team Championships. That competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 21 and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 26. Individuals selected to compete in those championships will be announced on Wednesday evening.

Virginia, Duke, North Carolina, Miami and Clemson will each serve as host sites for the first and second round of the Championship. The Cavaliers (21-5) will open play against Youngstown State (14-11), while the Blue Devils (24-4) will take on East Tennessee State (14-8). North Carolina (24-5) will take on VCU (12-9). Miami (19-5) will play Boston (14-6), and Clemson (20-6) will square off against UNC-Wilmington (17-3).

Other first round matchups include Florida State (15-12) versus Arizona (17-5), Georgia Tech (13-9) matched up against Purdue (12-10) and Notre Dame (16-9) pitted against DePaul (22-3).