@ACCMLAX: Duke Wins 2014 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship

Photo courtesy of GoDuke.com

Blue Devils win second straight NCAA men’s lacrosse title

Read More from GoDuke.com 

BALTIMORE, Md. – The Duke men’s lacrosse team owned a 5-1 advantage at halftime and withstood a furious Notre Dame second-half rally to hold on to win its second straight NCAA Championship, 11-9, over the Fighting Irish on Sunday afternoon at M&T Bank Stadium.

Duke’s Jordan Wolf, who scored a game-high six points (2g, 4a) was named the tournament’s most outstanding player. With his six points in Sunday’s championship game, Wolf also became the second player in ACC history to score over 300 points in his career (304). 

The Blue Devils finish the season 17-3, while Notre Dame caps the 2014 season 12-6 overall.

The 2014 NCAA title is the Blue Devils third overall and gives ACC membership its 24th overall. With Maryland winning the 2014 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse title, the ACC has won both the men’s and women’s lacrosse titles in the same year on five occasions (2014, 2013, 2010, 1991 and 1986).