Domijan Leads All-@ACCMTennis Team


UNC’s Schnur Named Freshman of the Year, Paul Named Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Virginia senior Alex Domijan has been selected the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year and leads the 2014 All-ACC Team as announced by Commissioner John Swofford.

In addition to Domijan, North Carolina’s Brayden Schnur was named ACC Freshman of the Year, while Tar Heels head coach Sam Paul was named ACC Coach of the Year for the sixth time in his career.

Individual honors, as well as the All-ACC teams, were determined by a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches.

Virginia’s Domijan, a native of Wesley Chapel, Fla., is the fourth Cavalier student-athlete to be named ACC Player of the Year, joining Brian Vahaly (2000, 2001), Somdev Devvarman (2008) and Jarmere Jenkins (2012).

North Carolina’s Schnur joins the likes of Paul Harsanyi (1994), Bjorn Rencken (1999) and Chris Kearney (2007) as Tar Heel student-athletes that have captured Freshman of the Year honors.

Paul moved into a tie for first all-time for most ACC Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year honors with Chuck Kriese (Clemson), Jay Lapidus (Duke) and Brian Boland (Virginia).

Eleven ACC institutions had representatives on the All-ACC team, led by five honorees from Virginia. Duke had four representatives, while North Carolina, Notre Dame, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest each had three members. Clemson, Florida State and NC State had two honorees apiece, while Georgia Tech and Miami rounded out the field with one representative each.

Virginia’s Domijan was the lone four-time selection on the All-ACC Team, with the Cavaliers’ Mitchell Frank earning All-ACC honors for the third time in his career. Nine members earned All-ACC recognition for a second time.

Individual Award Winners

Player of the Year – Alex Domijan, Virginia

Freshman of the Year – Brayden Schnur, North Carolina

Coach of the Year – Sam Paul, North Carolina

All-ACC First Team

Mitchell Frank #                   Jr.          Virginia                  

Greg Andrews                        Sr.         Notre Dame           

Alex Domijan %                    Sr.         Virginia                  

Brayden Schnur                     Fr.         North Carolina      

Amerigo Contini @               So.         Virginia Tech        

Jason Tahir                             Jr.          Duke                       

Ronnie Schneider                  Fr.         North Carolina      

Romain Bogaerts*                 So.         Wake Forest          

Hunter Harrington*@          Jr.          Clemson                 

Fred Saba*@                          Sr.         Duke                       

All-ACC Second Team

Dominique Maden                Sr.         Clemson                 

Ryan Shane                             So.         Virginia                  

Austin Powell @                   Jr.          NC State                  

Dominic Cotrone @              Jr.          Florida State          

Brett Clark                              So.         North Carolina      

Omar Aly                                Sr.         Miami                     

Andreas Bjerrehus @           So.         Virginia Tech        

Nathan Rakitt                         So.         Georgia Tech         

Robbie Mudge @                   Jr.          NC State                  

All-ACC Third Team

Quentin Monaghan               So.         Notre Dame           

Mac Styslinger @                  So.         Virginia                  

Adam Lee @                           Sr.         Wake Forest          

Bruno Semenzato                  So.         Duke                       

Joao Monteiro                        So.         Virginia Tech        

Raphael Hemmeler               Jr.          Duke                       

Thai-Son Kwiatkowski        Fr.         Virginia                  

Cristian Gonzalez Mendez   Jr.          Florida State          

Maksim Kan*                         Fr.         Wake Forest          

Ryan Bandy*                          Sr.         Notre Dame           

* - Denotes a tie in voting

@ - Two-time selection

# - Three-time selection

% - Four-time selection