BC's Williams, FSU's Winston Named Finalists for 2013 Heisman Memorial Trophy


The 2013 Winner will be announced live on ESPN this Saturday

NEW YORK, New York (December 9, 2013) - In a season with many standout players throughout college football, the Heisman electorate has officially narrowed the race down to six finalists for the 2013 Heisman Memorial Trophy. Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel ('96) announced on Monday, December 9 that the finalists for the 79th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy are Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Auburn running back Tre Mason, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Boston College running back Andre Williams, and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston. The announcement of the finalists for the most prestigious award in college football was made on ESPN's 6:00PM
telecast of SportsCenter.

The six finalists will be invited to New York City for the Heisman Trophy announcement on December 14, which will broadcast live on ESPN at 8:00PM EST, presented by Nissan North America.

Williams would be the first Boston College Eagle to win the trophy in 29 years, since Doug Flutie's win in 1984. The senior running back rushed for 2,102 yards, scored 17 touchdowns, and averaged 6.4 yards per carry. He is the first Eagle to ever surpass the 2,000 yard rushing mark and set the school record for most yards rushed in a game with 339 yards against North Carolina State. Williams accounted for 51% of BC's offense this season and has the most rushing yards in all of Division I College Football for the 2013 season. (Read More

Winston would be only the second freshman to ever win the Heisman Trophy and the third Florida State Seminole, behind Charlie Ward ('93) and Chris Weinke ('00). The quarterback led his team to an undefeated season with 3,820 passing yards and 38 passing touchdowns. Upon surpassing Weinke's 33 touchdown passes, Winston set the new FSU single-season touchdown pass record at 38. Winston and the Seminoles will compete in the BCS National Championship Game in January.  (Read More)