ACSMA 2013-14 All-ACC Defensive Team Announced


Clemson's McDaniels, Georgia Tech's Miller lead voting by ACC media members

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The conference’s two leading shot-blockers are among the five players voted to the 2013-14 All-ACC Defensive Team announced by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) on Monday.

Clemson junior K.J. McDaniels, who leads the ACC with 83 blocked shots in 30 games was named on 66 ballots, while Georgia Tech senior Daniel Miller, who has blocked 77 shots in his 31 contests, received 60 votes.

McDaniels and Miller are joined on the five-member squad by Virginia senior Akil Mitchell (51 votes), Syracuse freshman Tyler Ennis (38 votes)  and North Carolina sophomore J.P. Tokoto (18 votes).

Mitchell has been a major part of a stifling defense that has limited opponents to ACC lows of 55.4 points and .384 shooting from the floor per game. Ennis leads the ACC in steals at 2.10 per game, and Tokoto is tied for fifth in the ACC in steals with 1.58 while drawing a number of primary defensive assignments.

Miller, a 6-foot-11½  senior from Loganville, Ga., is the lone repeat selection on the ACSMA All-ACC Defensive Team from the 2012-13 season.

ACSMA 2013-14 All-ACC Defensive Team

(Total votes in parenthesis)
KJ. McDaniels, Jr., Clemson (66)
Daniel Miller, Sr., Georgia Tech (60)
Akil Mitchell, Sr., Virginia (51)
Tyler Ennis, Fr., Syracuse (38)
J.P. Tokoto, So., North Carolina (18)