Fourteen @ACCWLAX Student-Athletes Named Tewaaraton Nominees

ACC student-athletes account for over half of the nominees

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award women’s nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Fourteen ACC student-athletes are among the 27 nominees from which the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award five finalists will be selected and honored on May 29, in Washington D.C. 

Maryland leads all ACC schools with four nominees. Boston College, Duke, North Carolina and Syracuse follow with two apiece, while Notre Dame and Virginia each have one nominee. 

ACC student-athletes have won six times in the 13-year history of the award, including Katie Schwarzmann of Maryland, who won the award the past two years. The other ACC winners are Maryland’s Jen Adams in 2001, Virginia’s Amy Appelt in 2004, Duke’s Katie Chrest in 2005, and Maryland’s Caitlyn McFadden in 2010.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

ACC Women’s Lacrosse Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., A
Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Sr., D
Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M
Megan Douty, Maryland - Jr., D
Brooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., A
Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., M
Abbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., A
Sloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., D
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Sr., M/D
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A
Courtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., A