@ACCWLAX Individual Season Honors Announced

Pictured Syracuse attacker Kayla Treanor and Maryland defender Megan Douty (Eric Canha for theACC.com)

Maryland, North Carolina and Syracuse student-athlete and coach collect the league’s top honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Syracuse sophomore attacker Kayla Treanor, Maryland junior defender Megan Douty, freshman midfielder Zoe Stukenberg and head coach Cathy Reese, and North Carolina freshman attacker Sydney Holman earned 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse individual postseason honors, as voted on by the league’s eight head coaches and announced Monday by the conference office.

Treanor, a First Team All-ACC honoree and Tewaaraton Award nominee, leads the league with 102 points on a league-best 70 goals and 32 assists. Her 3.50 goals per game are tops in the ACC and rank fifth in the nation. The Niskayuna, N.Y., native earned ACC Offensive Player of the Week twice this season and was named to the Midseason All-America First Team by Inside Lacrosse. 

Douty, who was named to the All-ACC First Team and a Tewaaraton Award nominee, registered 27 ground balls and 16 caused turnovers. She has been the backbone of a Terrapins’ defense that has surrendered a league-best 160 goals in 20 games this season, while opponents have averaged 8.00 goals per game. 

Stukenberg and Holman shared Freshman of the Year honors. Stukenberg shined for the Terps as she played in all 20 games during her rookie campaign in College Park, Md., and recorded 41 points on 32 goals and nine assists, and picked up 15 groundballs. Holman is the Tar Heels’ third-leading scorer this season with 34 goals and 27 assists for 61 points on the year. The Chapel Hill, N.C., native also collected 22 ground balls. 

Reese led the Terps to a 19-1 overall record and the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Championship to earn her seventh career ACC Coach of the Year honor - the most in league history - and her sixth straight. Maryland won its sixth straight ACC Championship, outscored its opponents 298-160, and compiled nine wins against teams ranked in the Top 20. 

Seven ACC teams were selected for the NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship, including six of the top eight national seeds, and will begin postseason play on Friday, May 9, or Sunday, May 11. The seven teams selected surpasses the previous record of five teams set twice in 2011 and 2013, and marked the 10th consecutive year that at least four league squads earned a bid. 

2014 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Individual Honors
Offensive Player of the Year – Kayla Treanor, So., A, Syracuse
Defensive Player of the Year – Megan Douty, Jr., D, Maryland 
Co-Freshman of the Year – Zoe Stukenberg, Fr., M, Maryland and Sydney Holman, Fr., A, North Carolina
Coach of the Year – Cathy Reese, Maryland