#ACCWLAX Championship Bracket Announced


ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship Page

2014 #ACCWLAX Bracket (pdf)


Maryland earns No. 1 seed 

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Maryland holds the top seed for the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship, which gets underway Thursday, April 24 at Boston College’s Alumni Stadium in Chestnut Hill, Mass. 

The Terrapins (16-1, 6-1 ACC) will play No. 8 seed Virginia Tech (7-9, 0-7 ACC) in the first game of the tournament on Thursday at 11 a.m. Maryland topped the Hokies. 22-12, in both teams’ regular-season finale on April 19. Maryland has won the last five ACC Championships and owns 10 tournament titles overall. 

Other quarterfinal matchups include No. 2 seed Syracuse (15-1, 6-1 ACC) playing No. 7 seed Notre Dame (9-7, 2-5 ACC), No. 3 North Carolina (12-3, 5-2 ACC) against No. 6 Boston College (12-4, 3-4) and No. 4 Duke (9-6, 3-4 ACC) taking on No. 5 Virginia (9-7, 3-4 ACC). 

Duke and Virginia will meet following the conclusion of the Maryland-Virginia Tech game at approximately 1 p.m. The Notre Dame – Syracuse game is slated for a 3 p.m. start, while Boston College and North Carolina will close out quarterfinal action at approximately 5 p.m.

The four winners will meet in the semifinals on Friday, April 25 at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m., and the ACC Championship title game is set for Sunday, April 27 at 1 p.m. 

All seven games of the tournament will be televised. The ACC’s Regional Sports Network (RSN) will carry the 11 a.m., and 1 p.m., quarterfinal games, as well as both semifinals and the championship game. The ACC Digital Network will air the 3 and 5 p.m. quarterfinal games.