@ACCWBB: NC State’s Burke wins Kay Yow Award


Photo by Sara D. Davis/theACC.com

Senior business administration major heads up 2013-14 All-ACC Academic Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) –  NC State senior Kody Burke has been named the recipient of the sixth annual Kay Yow Scholar Athlete of the Year Award and headlines the 2013-14 All-ACC Women's Basketball Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The honor is the second of the week for Burke, a 6-foot-2 forward from Northridge, Calif., who on Tuesday was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Second Team. After leading the Wolfpack to a 24-6 regular-season record, Burke enters Friday night’s ACC Tournament quarterfinal game averaging 15.1 points and 6.0 rebounds and ranks among the conference’s top free throw shooters at .864 percent.

A 2014 ACC Postgraduate Scholarship honoree, Burke has made the Dean’s List every semester of her enrollment at NC State. She has been named a Capital One Academic All-American each of the previous two seasons. Majoring in business administration, Burke is a four-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team.

With Burke’s selection, an NC State student-athlete receives the Kay Yow Award for the third consecutive year. Marissa Kastanek received the award in both her junior and senior years (2012 and 2013).

Duke leads with four student-athletes named to the 18-member All-ACC Academic team, and Maryland followed with three.

The All-ACC Academic Team includes a pair of All-ACC First Team selections in Duke’s Tricia Liston and three-time ACC Defensive Player of the Year Elizabeth Williams. All-ACC team second-team selections also earning All-ACC Academic honors in addition to Burke are Notre Dame’s Natalie Achonwa and Virginia Tech’s Uju Ugoka. The All-ACC Academic Team also features a pair of ACC All-Freshman Team honorees in Maryland’s Lexie Brown and Miami’s Adrienne Motley.

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters. The award is based 60 percent on academic achievement and 40 percent on athletic accomplishment.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during her academic career.

2013-14 ACC Women’s Basketball All-Academic Team

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Kody Burke, Sr., F, NC State

Name                                   Yr.         Pos.      School                                Major

Natalie Achonwa             Sr.           F             Notre Dame       Management Consulting

Shayla Bivins                    Sr.           C             Georgia Tech     Public Policy

Nicole Boudreau             So.          G             Boston College Undeclared

Loliya Briggs                     Jr.           G             Pitt                        Administration of Justice

Lexie Brown                      Fr.          G             Maryland            Finance

Kody Burke                       Sr.           F             NC State               Business Management

Brianna Butler                  So.          G             Syracuse             Sports Management

Lexie Gerson                     Gr.          G             Virginia                Higher Education

Kelly Gramlich                 Jr.           G             Clemson              Communication

Chelsea Gray                     Sr.           G             Duke                     Sociology

Malina Howard                So.          C             Maryland            Kinesiology

Brianna Kiesel                  Jr.           G             Pitt                        Administration of Justice

Tricia Liston                      Sr.           G             Duke                     Psychology

Adrienne Motley             Fr.          G             Miami                   Broadcast Journalism

Haley Peters                      Sr.           F/G        Duke                     Political Science

Katie Rutan                        R-Sr.      G             Maryland            Accounting

Uju Ugoka                          Sr.           F             Virginia Tech    Sociology

Elizabeth Williams         Jr.           C/F        Duke                     Psychology