@ACCWBB Legends Luncheon to be Held March 8


Fox 8’s Cindy Farmer and national basketball analyst Debbie Antonelli to host event honoring ACC Women’s Basketball greats.

GREENSBORO, NC – The Atlantic Coast Conference will host the ACC Women’s Basketball Legends Luncheon at the Sheraton Four Seasons in Greensboro, N.C.  The signature event recognizes both players and coaches from each of the ACC's 15 schools who have contributed to the league's rich tradition. The 2014 ACC Women’s Basketball Legends will also be honored during a ceremony at halftime of the first semifinal game of the 2014 ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament on Saturday, March 8 at the Greensboro Coliseum. 

The event will embody the true spirit of ACC Women’s Basketball and will offer attendees the opportunity to meet some of the biggest names in women’s basketball. The event will begin at 1 p.m.

Cindy Farmer, morning news anchor for FOX 8 News, will serve as emcee for the evening. Debbie Antonelli, national basketball analyst for ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports Net and Westwood One, will present the Legends. 

The league’s website, theACC.com, will highlight the class of 2014 ACC Women’s Basketball Legends.  More information can be found at theACC.com/legends

“I've attended and enjoyed every ACC Legends event,” said ACC Senior Associate Commissioner Nora Lynn Finch. “All of our ACC Legends, past and present, embody her alma mater's tradition of excellence.  Each one professes the exceptional opportunities afforded her while a student-athlete and is reinvesting those into herself and her profession.  We certainly appreciate our ACC Legends for what each gave to her alma mater back in the day and for how they represent us today.”

ACC Women’s Basketball Legends Luncheon event tickets are still available but are selling quickly. To purchase event tickets, tables or for more information please call 336-369-4673. 

Included in this year's class are 13 former-student-athletes and two former head coaches who represent four decades of women's basketball. Below is a complete list of this year's Legends:

Player                                   School

Becky Gottstein Holden     Boston College

Bobbie Mims Felder           Clemson

Michele Van Gorp               Duke

Alicia "Ice" Gladden            Florida State

Agnus Berenato                   Georgia Tech

Laura Harper                        Maryland

Lin Dunn                               Miami

Marion Jones                        North Carolina

Sharon Manning                  NC State

Ruth Riley                             Notre Dame

Jennifer Bruce                      Pittsburgh

Sue Ludwig                           Syracuse

DeMya Walker                     Virginia

Carrie Mason                        Virginia Tech

Lisa Dodd                             Wake Forest