@ACCWBB Boasts Four Finalists for the Wade Trophy


ACC’s four finalists leads all leagues

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and SHAPE America, announced Thursday the 12 finalists in contention for The Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA® Division I women’s basketball player.

Among those 12 finalists are four student-athletes from the Atlantic Coast Conference -  Florida State senior forward Natasha Howard, Maryland senior forward Alyssa Thomas, and Notre Dame senior guard Kayla McBride and sophomore guard Jewell Loyd.

The ACC leads all leagues with four finalists.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The Wade Trophy from among these 12 finalists who also are named to the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Team when it is chosen in April. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. CT Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel’s Broadway Ballroom. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®.

The Wade Trophy, now in its 37th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball”, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.