@ACCWBB: Six Added to Wade Watch List


ACC leads all leagues with 12 representatives

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Six Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes have been added to the 2013-14 “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the sport’s player of the year honor as awarded by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

Added to the list are Duke sophomore guard Alexis Jones and senior guard Tricia Liston, Florida State senior forward Natasha Howard, NC State senior center Markeshia Gatling, Notre Dame sophomore guard Jewell Loyd, and Wake Forest junior forward Dearica Hamby.

The ACC leads all leagues with 12 representatives on the list of 35.

The Wade Trophy Coalition presents The Wade Trophy to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA Division I women’s basketball player each year – one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The Wade Watch list, from which the Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. The Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce the Wade Trophy winner at the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 7, which is part of the 2014 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Nashville.

ACC Representation on the Wade Watch list

Natalie Achonwa, Sr., F, Notre Dame

Markeisha Gatling, Sr., C, NC State

Chelsea Gray, Sr., G, Duke

Dearica Hamby, Jr., F, Wake Forest

Natasha Howard, Sr., F, Florida State

Alexis Jones, So., G, Duke

Tricia Liston, Sr., G, Duke

Jewell Loyd, So., G, Notre Dame

Tyaunna Marshall, Sr., G, Georgia Tech

Kayla McBride, Sr., G, Notre Dame

Alyssa Thomas, Sr., F, Maryland

Elizabeth Williams, Jr., C/F, Duke