@ACCRowing Has 19 Rowers Selected to CRCA South All-Region Team


19 Honorees is an All-Time High for Conference; Virginia Head Coach Kevin Sauer Named South Region Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C.—The Atlantic Coast Conference had 19 of its rowers—including 10 first-team selections--named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-South Region team and Virginia head coach Kevin Sauer was named the CRCA South Region Coach of the Year, the CRCA announced today.

The total of 19 rowers honored is the most in ACC history for the Conference, which added Notre Dame and Syracuse this past year and now fields eight rowing programs. The previous high for the league was 13 rowers named in 2008.

ACC Champion Virginia and ACC runner-up Notre Dame each had five rowers tabbed to the All-South team followed by Syracuse (3), Clemson (2), Duke (2), Boston College (1) and Miami(1).

This year, Sauer led Virginia to a No. 4 national ranking and to its 14th Atlantic Coast Conference championship in 15 years. He was also named the ACC’s Coach of the Year, by a vote of the league’s head coaches,  for the 10th time overall and fifth year in a row

Virginia had the most first-team All-Region selections with four: senior coxswain Sarah Jordan (Flourtown, Pa.), senior Constanze Duell (Oberschleissheim. Germany); senior Brandy Herald (Portland, Ore.) and junior Lizzy Youngling (Westport, Conn.). Additionally, UVa junior Hemingway Benton (Glencoe, Ill.) was named to the second team.

Notre Dame had two rowers honored on the first team in junior Erin Boxberger (Overland Park, Kan.) and senior Molly Bruggeman (Dayton, Ohio), and three to the second team in senior coxswain Christina Dines (Buffalo, N.Y.), sophomore Joanna Mulvey (Staatsburg, N.Y.) and junior Ailish Sheehan (Kildare County, Limerick, Ireland).

Syracuse had junior Georgia Hamilton (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) and senior Rebecca Soja (Simsbury, Conn.) named to the first team with senior Maggie McCrudden (Ridgewood, N.J.) on the second team.

Clemson saw sophomore Milena Heuer (Leer, Germany) named to the first team with sophomore Paula Wesselmann (Flensburg, Germany) on the second team.

Duke had sophomore Katie Duckovich (Pittsburgh, Pa.) chosen for the first team and junior Caroline Williams (Raleigh, N.C.) on the second team.

Boston College was represented by junior Ellen Burr (Cazanovia, N.Y.) on the second team, while Miami also had a second-team honoree in senior Breanna Hayton (Victoria, British Columbia, Canada).

 Three ACC rowers were repeaters from the 2013 team.  Virginia’s Sarah Jordan and Duke’s Katie Duckovich were first-team All-South Region selections in 2013, while and Miami’s Breanna Hayton was a second-team honoree.

        ACC Members of the 2013 CRCA All-South Region Rowing Team

          First Team

          Name                                          School                                  Cl.           Hometown                                                                              

          Erin Boxberger                        Notre Dame                       Jr.           Overland Park, Kan.

          Molly Bruggeman                  Notre Dame                       Sr.           Dayton, Ohio

          Constanze Duell                     Virginia                                 Sr.           Oberschleisheim, Germany

          Katie Duckovich                      Duke                                     So.          Pittsburgh, Pa.

          Georgia Hamilton                   Syracuse                              Jr.           Missassauga, Ontario, Canada

          Brandy Herald                         Virginia                                 Sr.           Portland, Ore.

          Milena Heuer                          Clemson                              So.          Leer, Germany

          Sarah Jordan (coxswain)     Virginia                                 Sr.           Flourtown, Pa.

          Rebecca Soja                           Syracuse                              Sr.           Simsbury, Conn.

          Lizzy Youngling                        Virginia                                 Jr.           Westport, Conn.

          Second Team

          Hemingway Benton              Virginia                                 Jr.           Glencoe, Ill.

          Ellen Burr                                   Boston College                  Jr.           Cazenovia, N.Y.

          Christina Dines (coxswain) Notre Dame                       Sr.           Buffalo, N.Y.

          Breanna Hayton                     Miami                                   Sr.           Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

          Maggie McCrudden              Syracuse                              Sr.           Ridgewood, N.J.

          Joanna Mulvey                       Notre Dame                       So.          Staatsburg, N.Y.

          Ailish Sheehan                        Notre Dame                       Jr.           Kildare County, Limerick, Ireland

          Paula Wesselmann                Clemson                              So.          Flensburg, Germany

        Caroline Williams              Duke     Jr.           Raleigh, N.C.