Virginia Tech, NC State Battle for #ACCMSD Lead

  • Friday's Final Results
  • Saturday's Prelim Heat Sheet
  • Saturday's Mile Heat Sheet
  • #ACCMSD Championship Site
  • Follow @ACCSwimDive on Twitter
  • Follow @ACCpix on Instagram
  • 2013 #ACCMSD & #ACCWSD Photo Gallery

  • Photo by Sam Roberts,

    Four league records, including the oldest mark still standing, fall on Friday

    GREENSBORO, N.C. – In a night that saw four more ACC records fall, Virginia Tech and NC State battled for the advantage on the scoreboard on day three of the Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship at the Greensboro Aquatic Center.

    The Hokies, with 815.5 points, holds a narrow margin over the Wolfpack at 807.5 points. NC State entered the day with a four point edge, and the two teams traded the lead spot on Friday night.

    North Carolina sits in third with 675 points, ahead of Notre Dame (652) in fourth, Florida State (646.5) in fifth, and Virginia (636) in sixth. Georgia Tech (329.5) is in seventh, followed by Duke (325), Pitt (282), Boston College (167) , and Miami (128).

    In a tight race to open the night, the Florida State 400 medley relay team of Pavel Sankovich, Jared Pike, Connor Knight, and Paul Murray took first with a time of 3:04.47. Murray, swimming the anchor leg, out-touched NC State’s Jonathan Boffa as the Wolfpack claimed second in 3:04.80.

    The Seminoles broke the conference record (2013 Virginia Tech, 3:07.17) by more than two seconds, and Sankovich’s opening leg (45.31) reset his own 100 backstroke ACC record (45.86) from last year. Six squads posted NCAA A standards in the event.

    Sophomore Christian McCurdy became the first NC State swimmer to win the 400 individual medley since 1984, finishing in a winning time of 3:43.61. North Carolina senior Alex Gianino claimed second in 3:44.92, followed by Duke freshman Michael Miller (3:46.03) in third. Virginia’s David Ingraham posted an NCAA A cut in prelims (3:42.94) and placed fourth (3:46.72) in Friday night’s final.

    Sankovich broke his second individual record on the night in the 100 butterfly. The senior finished in 45.12, breaking the old mark of 45.57 set by North Carolina’s Tommy Wyher in 2010. NC State’s Barrett Miesfeld (45.79) and Florida State’s Connor Knight (45.83) both grabbed podium spots with NCAA A standard times.

    Frank Dyer became the first Notre Dame male swimmer to win an individual ACC title when the senior won the 200 freestyle with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:33.20. NC State’s David Williams (1:34.14) and Simonas Bilis (1:34.19) claimed second and third place.

    Zachary Stephens made it back-to-back victories for the Irish and set a new ACC record in the process. The junior won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 52.59, breaking the old mark of 52.60 set by Virginia’s Ed Moses in 2000, the oldest league record still standing. Virginia’s Yannick Kaeser (52.88) and NC State’s Ian Bishop (52.91) joined Stephens on the podium.

    Sankovich closed the night with his third victory of the day, winning the 100 backstroke in NCAA automatic qualifying time of 45.83. NC State’s Andreas Schiellerup came in second in 46.15, while Virginia swimmers took spots three through five led by Jack Murfee (46.30) in third.

    The final day of the championship starts on Saturday at 11 a.m. with the preliminaries of the 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, and 200 butterfly. The swimming finals, including the 1650 freestyle, start at 7 p.m.

    One change of note in this year’s Championship was the addition of the scoring of all 24 competitors competing in a swimming final. In previous years, only the top 16 competitors received points that counted toward their team’s total.

    A live video stream of event finals will be available on on Thursday through Saturday from 7 to 9 p.m., with Dean Linke handling play-by-play and Warren Perry adding analysis.

    There is no charge for admission to the 2014 ACC Swimming & Diving Championships. Parking is available for $8 or for $15 for a session pass.

    All championship information, including a full event schedule and live results, can be found at the official championship website, Fans can also get updates by following along on Twitter, @ACCSwimDive.