Eleven from @ACCMLAX Among Tewaaraton Nominees

ACC leads all leagues with 11 nominees

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men’s nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Eleven ACC student-athletes are among the 28 nominees from which the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award five finalists will be selected and honored on May 29, in Washington D.C. 

Duke leads all ACC schools with three nominees. Maryland, Syracuse and Virginia follow with two apiece, and North Carolina and Notre Dame each have one nominee. Nine of the ACC’s 11 nominees are also All-ACC selections. 

ACC student-athletes have won five times in the 13-year history of the award. Past winners include Virginia’s Chris Rotelli in 2003, Virginia’s Matt Ward in 2006, Duke’s Matt Danowski in 2007, Duke’s Ned Crotty in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick in 2011. Syracuse, in its first year in the ACC, has had an additional three players win the award.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

ACC Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Deemer Class, Duke - Soph., M
Myles Jones, Duke - Soph., M 
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Sr., A 
Niko Amato, Maryland - Sr., G 
Mike Chanenchuk, Maryland - Sr., M 
Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Jr., A
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Soph., A 
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Sr., D
Mark Cockerton, Virginia - Sr., A 
Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Jr., A 
Randy Staats, Syracuse - Jr., A/M